PDA

View Full Version : rotating north, linked projects, project north, etc.

Justin Marchiel
2006-10-31, 01:04 AM
I have a project where a user started to create buildings that where going to be linked into a site project. on screen we default up is north, down south. so the user started creating the buildings with there current orientation relative to north. the building are rectangular and run north south, so to document the building we would need to rotate the building so that north is to the left of the page.

I would have like to start out with north to the left, but the building is to far to want to rotate it now. it would be easy to rotate the project just by using the rotate to true north (and faking the orientation), but i am worried about what will happen when we link it onto a site.

will i have issues with the faked rotated project, or does the publish coordinates fix this issue. I have limited knowledge of the linked files and publish coordiates, so i am looking for any advice.

Thanks

Justin

nandini
2006-10-31, 09:48 AM
why dont you do a save as copy for back up and just go ahead and do what you are thinking of...nothing fails to try.

Wes Macaulay
2006-10-31, 01:37 PM
You're in less trouble if you have to reorient true north than project north. If you link said building onto a site, you can publish the building's orientation back to its own file. So after you've done this, in said project, when you change the plan orientation to true north, it takes on the rotation given to it in the master file. Give it a go and you'll see how it works.

patricks
2006-10-31, 02:07 PM
You can rotate your crop region, and project north and true north should remain the same, and notes and tags will still remain readable. I did that recently on a project where project north was up on my floor plans, but I had to rotate it so that north was to the left on my site plans because of the shape of the site.