PDA

View Full Version : Casework in plan view

Mike.68517
2004-06-23, 06:28 PM
I'm a new Revit user and I'm working on a kitchen in a multifamily project....
How do you get the cabinets to display properly in plan view, without showing each individual cabinet? Is there any way to show this, other than just with lines?

How do the pro's do it?

Thanks for any advice!

Scott D Davis
2004-06-23, 06:42 PM
can you post an example of how you'd like it to display?

Mike.68517
2004-06-23, 06:52 PM
Sure... It's my first time uploading... so hopefully it works.

This image was created with just plain model lines.

Steve_Stafford
2004-06-23, 06:55 PM
More than one way to solve this, each is "right" depending on the purpose:

2D lines - Make two linestyles - 2D-Casework and 2D-Casework Above. Draft em in like the "old" days. Plan representation, no interior elevations involved or 3d views

3D simple - basic blocks using simple stretchable families that you place, stretch move on. Gives you blocked out elevations and 3d views...no cabinet detail. Later, add 2d detail work to interior elevations instead of modeling them.

3D/2D simple - place counter top families that are stretchable like above...plan only use, then later add cabinets or blocks like above

All the Way - place specific cabinet families etc. for actual design work, more detailed layout work.

Let the design phases dictate how much effort you put in at the appropriate time...

Mike.68517
2004-06-23, 07:03 PM
Great... thanks for the multiple options!

Charles Francis
2004-06-23, 07:26 PM
Mike:
If you haven't picked up on it, the woodwork institute has a series of families premade for a large number of cabinets. These may be downloaded as can a catalogue showing 3d view of each type. Go to www.woodworkinstitute.com.

David Conant
2004-06-23, 07:38 PM