PDA

View Full Version : Just Getting Started

paulmarshall
2006-11-20, 11:47 PM
Hello All:

I'm an architect, just getting started with Revit - I mean really *just* getting started. All the information in the "Getting Started" exercise that came with 9.1 went down just fine. :-)

Now I'm trying to move on to some simple projects of my own. I don't seem to be able to rotate anything about the X or Y axis, though. Let's say for example, that we had a beam element with a rectangular section that was to be positioned on a 2:12 pitch. How would one go about creating that?

Thanks very much for any assistance!

Paul

neb1998
2006-11-21, 12:57 AM
Paul
Create a reference plane in section parallel to the beam direction.
goto plan, select the ref plane as your new workplane (top left corner) and then draw your beam.

sbrown
2006-11-21, 01:30 AM
create your roof first, then use the bottom of it as the workplane. You may want to use the structural tools later in your learning. I would suggest drafting your framing plans on your first revit project, unless you have plenty of time.

paulmarshall
2006-11-21, 01:39 AM
Thanks.

By "reference plane" you mean the work plane, correct? I'm not having a problem re-setting the work plane to a vertical axis, but that seems to have no effect on my ability to rotate the beam.

When I go to the plan view, the work plane automatically re-sets to X-Y, so there would be no way to select a vertical work plane in plan - I think (?).

The procedure I was trying to use was to do all of this in the 3D view. First drawing the beam as a "mass", then selecting the work plane as a surface parallel to the desired direction of rotation, then rotating the beam, but it fails to rotate. It will only rotate in the X-Y plane.

Could this be a function of processor speed? I'm working on a laptop.

paulmarshall
2006-11-21, 02:26 AM