PDA

View Full Version : Need help on this roof....

chris.needham
2006-12-04, 12:42 PM
Hi Everyone, my first post here, after lurking for a while.

I've been using Revit for a couple of months now, and quite enjoying the experience. I've used ADT for several years now, and can make it do most things that I need in my work, but am now getting into Revit and enjoy it more.

Anyway, I'm having a bit of trouble drawing the attached roof in Revit. I've attached a screenshot of the roof done in ADT, but I just can't get it done in Revit. It gives me a message similar to ".....can't have enclosed boundary lines defining slope...."

Anyone done anything like this successfully?

whittendesigns
2006-12-04, 01:58 PM
I would try making 4 separate roofs. What happens when you draw one complete roof and draw the part in the middle, Revit thinks you're drawing a hole in the roof.

You can make the 4 complete roofs by footprint, then join them, then edit the lines to clean it up.

Rhythmick
2006-12-04, 03:30 PM
The roof around the courtyard could be done in two halves then join.

whittendesigns
2006-12-04, 04:06 PM
Much better than what I had thought, good one.

christo4robin
2006-12-04, 04:08 PM
To elaborate a bit more... Going with multiple roofs is the answer, whether split along the ridges or split over the n side, s side, e side, w side. To get the roofs to be accurate to how they will be constructed, sketch the roofs a bit longer than they need to be where the will intersect, then use the join geometry button so the intersection of geometry becomes a line. In a roof plan view, add a detail line or reference plane to the intersection. Now edit the sketch and pull it back to the intersection you just clarified with the reference plane. Repeat as necessary. I usually delete the reference plane as soon as I've finished the sketch so I don't have a messy file.

chris.needham
2006-12-04, 08:06 PM