PDA

View Full Version : Revit Text on autocad equivelent of multiple layers

mjbednarczyk
2006-12-12, 09:51 PM
I am a newbie to Revit and I am struggling with a work flow issue.

Previously we had multiple layers that had notes used for design development in one central core base file. Layers were divided into equipment planning notes, mechanical requirement and electrical requirement etc. All notes were in one location and edited in one location. Display of information was by either turning on or off layers depending on need of user( M/E). We are a full service firm so our engineers are familiar of where we place information.

Now from what I can understand in the Revit world text is view dependent. I know about tags and multi category tags associating to the equipment. However this is not necessary in that this information currently does not need to be either scheduled. This is used primarily for communication purposes. I have created some shared parameters and have a multi category tag for some of this communication of information.

From what I understand text is text and can not be assigned to different layers like in Auto cad .When I go to visibility you either have text on or off. There is no option to have multi category text.

Are there any other options out there that I can investigate to see if this works within the confines of our work flow?

Any assistance would help.

byori
2006-12-12, 10:06 PM
You could try making a new subcategory within the Object Styles, assigning the text (or whatever) to that subcategory, and controlling the visibility of only that subcategory in your view.

aaronrumple
2006-12-12, 10:17 PM
You could try making a new subcategory within the Object Styles, assigning the text (or whatever) to that subcategory, and controlling the visibility of only that subcategory in your view.There are no subcategories to text.