PDA

View Full Version : BIG Pimpin Spanish house (in progress)

shsuka15
2006-12-21, 06:59 PM
I'm a student at Santiago High School, and i'm looking for ways to improve my SPANISH house
any suggestions for the interior shot would help thnx

bill0246
2006-12-25, 03:37 AM
Student,

If you want professional input on your design, you should appear professional. Lose the "Big Pimpin" from your description.

Additionally, ask specific questions to the AUGI members. I can see some areas that need attention...study your character more thoroughly...use my hundreds of "product-walk" pictures, books like Red-Tile Style, Santa Barbara Style, and Casa California. Don't forget about the class text A Field Guide to American Houses. Make sure to READ these books too....knowing the lifestyle and history of the character will give you insight into which questions to ask.

Large windows like the one on the right (first floor) would not happen if you studied your character thoroughly. Why do you want a window that big for a view into the garage???
Small punch-out/fixed windows with a subtle wrought iron detail or simple shutter might be a better play there.

Hopefully the professionals have some input on the authenticity of the entry.

Keep those exterior walls very thick to allow for deep recessed windows and doors. Same with major interior walls.

Please keep the exterior elevations black and white.

You have some nice ideas....just needs refinement!

Brian Myers
2006-12-25, 05:36 AM
I just wanted to add a couple words to what Bill has already stated. First, he's correct in saying that "Pimpin" isn't a word that likely you should be using in introducing this project. While its true it has become popular slang that many people realize what it means within the younger age bracket, its not something yet to be adopted by those a bit older and has a much different meaning to them.