PDA

View Full Version : Sloped Precast Spandrel (Stacked Wall)

rmcelvain.103137
2007-01-26, 08:36 PM
Hi,

I'm working on a parking garage and I've got a stacked wall with some reveals in it that I'm using for my precast spandrel.

Is there a way to slope the stacked wall where they cover the ramp portion of the building. Typically I've just used a plain wall and edited the profile but I wanted to try and use the stacked wall so I could indicate the different finishes on the panel. I've also noticed that I am having trouble using reveals with a wall that's profile is edited; is this a bad idea? I'm open to change, so if there is a smoother way to do this I won't be offended.

Let me know if I'm not making sense, my background is structural drafting and the program I'm using is Revit Structure.

Thanks in advance,

Teresa.Martin
2007-01-26, 09:08 PM
Hi!
This may not be the ideal answer, but if you are using a stacked wall, you can then separate them (right click and choose 'Break Up') and change their profiles accordingly. You will also need to use Cut Geometry to have one wall cut the other.
Best regards,

robert.manna
2007-01-27, 01:50 AM
I generally reccomend avoiding stacked walls, while a fantastic idea in theory, by the "end of the day" they usually cause more problems then they solve.

-Robert

rmcelvain.103137
2007-01-27, 04:00 PM
Teresa,

I hadn't realized you could break up a stacked wall, interesting. I think I'll probably just go with a single wall for the sloped spandrels though :) .

Thanks for the tip!

rmcelvain.103137
2007-01-27, 04:02 PM
I generally reccomend avoiding stacked walls, while a fantastic idea in theory, by the "end of the day" they usually cause more problems then they solve.
Robert,