PDA

View Full Version : Embedded Curtain Wall w/ Sill

jelultra
2007-02-28, 03:27 PM
First post - hooray!

I'm a novice user getting into Revit. I'm using 9.1, and have been utilizing the Curtain Wall 1 to perform all of my storefront windows / curtain walls etc. using the 'automatically embed' option in the properties.

How do I get a sill underneath this window to look correct? I have a low brick wall underneath this window, and a precast sill wants to sit on top of the brick, and provide a transition for the curtainwall.

Do I need to create a separate family? If so - how do I change the opening cut to display the sill correctly?

I have a similar issue for a soldier course or precast lintel above the window head.

Thanks!

Doug

christo4robin
2007-02-28, 04:48 PM
I would suggest that you create a precast sill family. File>new>family, then generic wall based. Create the geometry there. Import into your project file and place it.

If you haven't gotten into the family editor yet, you might hunt for such a family at Revitcity.com. You need to become a member in order to download files.

bowlingbrad
2007-03-01, 02:01 PM
I think you could also create a custom mullion that includes a sill and use it for the bottom mullion only.

jelultra
2007-03-06, 06:57 PM
All - thanks for your help regarding the matter -

I've created a wall hosted family for the sill - and parameterized it. Now when I insert it, I get the result in the attached pdf.

How do I carve out the exterior portion of the wall to properly show the sill? Someone in our office mentioned a void object, however, they could not give direction on how to utilize it. Any help is appreciated!

Thanks!

twiceroadsfool
2007-03-06, 07:29 PM
Go back in to your wall hosted family, and create a void object in the family that cuts the required amount out of the wall. Remember to contrain the void so that it behaves appropriately with whatever size parameters you have put in for the sill itself. :)

Calvn_Swing