PDA

View Full Version : Nominal Masonry Dimensions

bwagner
2007-03-20, 07:31 PM
My first post. I am new to Revit and have been working on setting up our company standards for Revit for the past couple of months. To date I have found an answer to all my questions already posted on these forums. So thank you for your help, to all those that contribute to theses forums.

Here is my question. We currently show masonry walls at their nominal dimensions at scales ¼ and above and at their actual dimension for scales below ¼. For example if we had two parallel 8” CMU walls with their centerlines 3’-4” apart we would show the walls as 8” wide with a face to face dimension of 2’-8” between them on a ¼ scale floor plan. However on a callout of the same walls at 3/4 scale we would show the walls as 7 5/8” thick and the dimension between them as 2’-8 3/8”. Can our current standard be easily accommodated in Revit?

Thanks in advance for any help/advise.
Brett

Dimitri Harvalias
2007-03-20, 07:57 PM
Welcome Brett,

My initial response is to question why you wouldn't show it as it actually is at al levels of detail? You can then dimension as required to whatever wall face is the critical/relevant one and you are assured consistency in your contract docs.
That said, you can add detail components or repeating details to your larger scale views that are whatever dimension you need them to be so the answer to your question is yes, but not automatically.

patricks
2007-03-20, 08:01 PM
Why do that? Why show 2 different dimensions for the same thing? It seems like that could get very confusing in the field when they try to lay out the walls.

But for what you're asking, I see 2 options:

1. use a dimension style with rounding set to the nearest whole inch (5/8" will go up to to the next inch). However I forsee fairly serious problems over a long dimension string when the dimensions become several inches off. This could cause big problems where ADA clearances are critical.