PDA

View Full Version : wall joins

paul.meco
2007-03-23, 06:13 PM
Hi all,

I am new to Revit, with years of experience in AutoCAD. I am having difficulty with the automated wall joins in Revit. I seem to have a problem of not being able to control the geometry the way I want to. For instance I have a wall segment bookended by two other segments that are wider in width. I want the two to join together seamlessly, and I have attempted to make the wall in the middle terminate at the endpoints of the other two wall segments, but every time I try this, it automatically takes the end of the middle wall to 6" beyond the end points of the other two wall segments. There are walls above as well, and it appears, that the thin middle segment of wall is joining to the centerline of the walls above which run perpendicularly. I am not sure why this is the case, and I do not know how to set this condition up in the first place. Is there anyone out there that can help direct me to a thorough explanation of control of wall geometry, specifically anyone who thinks they know the answer to this situation? Any help is much appreciated. Thanks

danbwall
2007-03-23, 06:29 PM
Not sure quite how new you are to Revit, so hopefully this doesn't seem like a dumb response to you. Have you tried the 'Edit Wall Join' tool? This lets you cycle thru different options for joining the walls. If that doesn't work, sometimes just pulling the walls back with their 'grip' and rejoining does the trick. Also if there are walls above, make sure that these walls are not overlapping in height...

Hope this helps.

Mike Sealander
2007-03-23, 06:32 PM
Can you post some .jpg's?

dfriesen
2007-03-23, 06:37 PM
Two things you can use to edit wall joins:
1. Edit Wall Joins (on the toolbar, or under the Tools pulldown)