PDA

View Full Version : Printing (number of copies)



spencer.67965
2004-07-27, 05:45 PM
Hello All,

I have recently been trying to automate some printing of standard details. I have set up a TextBox1 with SpinButton to choose the number of print copies this is my code for setting the nubmer of copies.

ThisDrawing.Plot.NumberOfCopies = TextBox1.Text

When my textBox1 is > 1 I get the following plot error: (See Below)

Does anyone know how I can fix this or work around it.

I have also found that it takes about 4 times longer to plot this way then printing it manually. Does anyone know why or how to speed up the printing process.

Thanks for your help,

Spencer

AutoCAD 2005, Windows 2k

Error:

[/url]Job: - Plotted with Errors(s)

Job ID: 2
Sheet set name:
Date and time started: 7/27/2004 11:34:03 AM
Date and time completed: 7/27/2004 11:34:08 AM
UserID: cad
Profile ID: ACUTE
Total sheets: 2
Sheets plotted: 1
Number of errors: 1
Number of warnings: 0

res://C:Program%20FilesAutoCAD%202005AcPltRes.dll/CHECK.GIF (app://toggle/)Sheet: UnsavedDwg_1-Model - Plotted

File: <Unsaved Drawing>
Category name:
Page setup:
Device name: 1 SHARP AR-507 PCL5e Local.pc3
Plot file path:
Paper size: Letter

res://C:Program%20FilesAutoCAD%202005AcPltRes.dll/ERROR.GIF[url="app://toggle/"]Sheet: UnsavedDwg_1-Model - Error(s) Did Not Plot

File: <Unsaved Drawing>
Category name:
Page setup:
Device name: 1 SHARP AR-507 PCL5e Local.pc3
Plot file path:
Paper size: Letter

ERROR: Load Failed

Coolmo
2004-07-27, 08:01 PM
Try setting your TextBox1.text to an integer by declaring a variable as an integer first and setting it to TextBox1.text. Then use the variable as your number of copies. I don't know if this will work but it seems like you're trying to pass a string to a function that requires an integer. Just a thought.

spencer.67965
2004-07-27, 08:11 PM
I will try that and see what happens.

Thanks,

Spencer

spencer.67965
2004-07-27, 08:18 PM
That didn't work, but thanks for the input.

If anyone else has an Idea Please let me know.

Spencer

RobertB
2004-07-27, 08:57 PM
This worked for me:

Sub Test()
Dim i As Integer
i = 2
ThisDrawing.Plot.NumberOfCopies = i
ThisDrawing.Plot.PlotToDevice
End Sub

BTW, the reason the plots take longer is that they are occurring in the background. Read the docs on the Plot object for more details.

spencer.67965
2004-07-27, 09:24 PM
Thanks i'll check it out.


Spencer

spencer.67965
2004-07-27, 09:38 PM
That didn't work either. Might it be a printer problem?

Thanks for the help,

Spencer

spencer.67965
2004-07-27, 09:59 PM
Sadly I found the problem, Yes it is a problem with the Printer. I tried printing to our Xerox 8825 and it worked great. However it does not work with our Sharp AR-507 Copier / Printer. If anyone has encountered this problem before and worked around it please let me know what you did.

Spencer