PDA

View Full Version : Non-ordinary walls then philosophy then tablets/flatscreens

aghis
2003-07-10, 05:46 PM
This thread takes a detour off topic half way through but would be confusing to split so I've taken the unlikely approach to append the title and place this note, sorry for any confusion "Q"

I'm new in Revit 5.0. I use extensively ADT3.3 and ADT2004.
I have a question concerning non uniform walls.

Ex. A wall that has two components and one of them has a variable thikness. In ADT you can do this with "plan modifiers" or if the doforlation is in 3d you may use "Body modifiers".

doforlation = deformation...I think..."Q"

As I understand in Revit you may create a In-place Wall familly. However, the wall generated with this procedure has some problems:
1. with cleanups (with the other walls) and
2. it is not a configurable wall. I have to create a different familly for each particular wall in my plan.
3. If I have an Inclined surface, the windows do not follow the slope, they stay vertical...

Thanks for the advice

aghis

gregcashen
2003-07-10, 07:54 PM
or if the doforlation is in 3d you may use "Body modifiers"

DOFORLATION? I am glad I don't use ADT!

hand471037
2003-07-10, 08:16 PM
Actually, you wouldn't want to do this with a in-place family, I would think. You may better off making a new wall type consisting of those two layers, and just make different types for the different thicknesses you need. Seeing that you'll most likely only need a couple of widths, and how trivial it is to define a new wall type (it's very different from ADT's Styles), this should work well.