PDA

View Full Version : Autocad import in Revit with coordinates

sopori
2004-08-10, 06:32 PM
Hello:

I am new to this forum. I am new to Revit in implementation. I have question. I have this decimal units autocad drawing which is essentially an engineering drawing. I imported into autocad without scaling so that it mainatained its coordinates. My purpose was that when I export back to autocad for other consultants, they should be able to xref this drawing at its original coordinates. I was successful in acheieving that. But I have now another problem. Since this decimal drawing was not scaled for architectural units, all wall types were 12 times bigger for obvious reasons. So I solved that also by making duplicates of the wall types by using 1/12 factor. Now here is the big problem how do I dimesnion it because all dimensions are shosing up in 1/12 factor for obvious reasons.

Could you please help me? I was in other user group and one user said scale it. But the problem does not stop there. So what do I do now? Help is really needed here because I do see huge potential of intelligent software like Revit.

ss

sbrown
2004-08-10, 06:59 PM
You need to scale up the dwg, don't scale down everything in Revit it would require intense reworking of everything. It will be much easier to scale down your exports.

You can scale a dwg on import or pick it after import/link and select properties and you will see the scale options.

Now the tricky part, getting the export in the right spot. You need to use the shared coordinate tool in revit to aquire the coordinates of your dwg. Do a search here. this topic was recently discussed.