PDA

View Full Version : Help with complex wall section please

clark.72011
2004-08-11, 08:25 PM
I am new to Revit and still fumbling around with it. I am trying to build a wall that has a triangular section that is wood framed and curved in the x/y plane. It will have windows and doors as well. I have not been able to figure out how to change the section of a wall or even rotate a regular wall in the z dimension. Please Help! I feel as though it should be easy and i am just missing something here.
Thanks-
ps it is version 6.1

Scott D Davis
2004-08-11, 08:32 PM
You are going to need to create an in-place family sweep, in the wall catagory. You will create the profile as the section through the wall, and the sweep path will be your curve in plan. This will then host wall based elements such as doors and windows.

Revit is much like construction...if you used standard walls, well then those are easy. If you use custom walls with creative sections, well then those are more difficult to create. (just as they would be to build!)

PeterJ
2004-08-11, 08:39 PM
Walls that are not truly vertical are not as easy in Revit as a traditional wall. You have three options:

1. Model the wall as a very thick wall and cut into it using in-place families (well documented in the help files) comprising voids. The resultant wall will be angled in the z plane.

2. Model the wall as an in-place family using solids.

3. Use the roof tool but make the layers equate to wall materials not roof materials and make what appear to be a steeply pitched roof.

There are advantages and disadvantages to each method, in case 1 you cannot use layers effectively , in case 2 you cannot place windows in plan and have to use a 3D view. In both these cases a standard window will follow the vertical line and not fall in with the angle of the wall. In case 3 you would need to make your doors and windows roof hosted families instead of wall hosted.