PDA

View Full Version : xml vs mdb

Ed Jobe
2004-08-16, 02:53 PM
I'm working on a VB.Net app and I'm still new to the framework. My app will store data that will be structured in a dataset as a table and a related table with subrecords. Thedata from these records will be modeled as custom objects. I need to persist the data but am having trouble deciding on whether to use the familiar mdb or move to xml. One consideration is that I want to write data as a record is changed, not when the program closes or by asking the user to save ALL their changes. I know that an mdb functions this way, but how about xml? I'm also thinking that a db has compression and xml does not? What are your thoughts about xml replacing an mdb as a database?

Related to this, I'm having difficulty finding an answer to this question, Is there any way to "create" an mdb using .Net? It seems that a connection requires an existing file. Once you have a connection, you can alter the db any way you want, but can you create a new one? I've developed tons of Access apps but now I want this app to stand alone from Access and not rely on it to create the db.

mtuersley
2004-08-17, 04:26 AM
Hey Ed!

First, xml and .net work just like an mdb - records are saved/added/deleted as you want them to be - at edit time, by user picking button, whatever. While it can be difficult to get used to, ado.net is simpler once you drop the vb6 ado trappings =) In a nutshell, whether your backend is mdb, xml or sql, they all come in as a dataset object. Then you use the datatables, dataviews, and other data-objects to manipulate/sort/order/etc. the data. If you opt for xml, look into serialized xml files. You can find some good examples at htp://www.codeproject.com if you haven't been there, yet.