PDA

View Full Version : Training for Revit Architecture 2008

cjcarch
2007-11-30, 09:08 PM
I'm an architect (near Seattle) who is on the end of the high dive and ready to jump headfirst into the Revit pool. Having looked at a number of different programs, I'm ready to download the demo package and try it for its 30 day trial period.

I attended an Autodesk presentation in Seattle last spring and was impressed with what I saw but for a number of reasons, I wasn't ready to jump in the pool at that time.

I'm a one-man show, so it's all up to me to make this program work for me. My work has been mostly residential (single and multi-family). My projects are getting bigger - my current project is a 46 unit mixed-use condo/retail project with two floors of parking garage. Obviously, I won't be able to do this project while I'm learning Revit but I want to be ready for my next project (spring 2009).

As I'm getting ready to jump in on the demo program, my questions are about training and are as follows:

1) I plan to do as much learning as I can in the 30 day demo period and then contact trainers that can assist me in learning more of this program and (hopefully) helping me to set up Revit in such a way that will be productive for me. There are several large resellers in this area (one nation wide firm and one Northwest firm). Does anyone (especially in the Seattle area) have any experience with these firms (I'm not sure if it's proper protocol to mention either by name)? With large reseller / training firms, my concern is that the teachers will have much more of a "computer" background, rather than an architectural background and I'm wondering if anyone has any experience or advise about this. I'm concerned that a "techie" teacher will focus more on all the aspects of the program whereas I feel that a teacher with an architecture background might focus more on aspects of the program that will help an architect do the job quickly and efficiently.