PDA

View Full Version : Detail view parameter missing?

michael.12445
2008-01-30, 05:12 PM
Hi,

I'm new to Revit - had a 3-day training course and am helping out on a project led by more experienced users (but they don't know the answer to this one).

We're adding detail references to all our plan, section, and elevation views. We're doing this by means of the "Section" and "Callout" items on the view menu, which creates the reference tag on the parent view, then we're inserting the detail view thus created onto a dummy detail sheet in order to get the detail/sheet number into the reference tag. (The actual detail drawings are already done/printed in AutoCAD.) So far, so good, but when we finish doing this on an elevation, for example, and then open a plan or section view, many of the detail reference tags show up in unwanted places - evidently because Revit thinks of them as section cut planes existing in 3 dimensions - and we have to turn each one off by individually by picking it and selecting "hide elements" in each view.

This is not practical. We need to be able to add a detail reference to a selected view at will, without having to open up every other view to see if it popped up where we don't want it. I see in the help file there is a description of an instance parameter of detail views that allows you to select "Show in intersecting views" or "Show in parent view only," (sounds like we want the second choice) that is accessed under the Settings menu, Settings > View Tags > Callout Tags... and Section Tags... but when I look, the parameter isn't there. Am I missing something? How can I access this parameter?

BTW the build is Revit Architecture 2008 - 20080101_2345.

Thanks,

Michael Evans

lhanyok
2008-01-30, 05:25 PM
It is in the instance parameters of each view. Right click on one of your detail views in the project browser, and go to its properties. It's under the Graphics Heading.

michael.12445
2008-01-30, 06:06 PM