PDA

View Full Version : Revit program to delete things from project browser

Dave Lewis
2008-04-14, 08:26 PM
On this project I'm a MEP consultant who gets models from an Architect. In order to cleanup their model and cut down on file size I do the following listed below on every project. I do this weekly as we get updates. What I would like to know is can I write some sort of Revit addon application that could automate this process?

Step 1 - Detach from Central
Make sure there is a copy of the model on the network in the coordination \ Incoming folder. Use the open command and make sure to use the Detach from Central option.
Most likely Revit will give you error messages that it cannot find Revit or CAD files, since you do not have the same network drive layout. Just hit OK to these prompts.

Step 2 - Remove Links
Open the Manage Links dialog (File > Manage Links)
Highlight all of the CAD formats and remove them
Repeat on the Revit and DWF Markup tabs

Step 3 - Remove views
First change the project browser to a more manageable format.
Click Settings > Browser Organization

This step will make it easier to delete view types. Delete all 3D Views, Elevations, Sections, Detail Views, Drafting Views, Walkthroughs, Legends, Schedules and Sheets. Expand each view type, multi select all the views you want to delete, then right click and hit delete

Step 4 - Remove unnecessary model elements.
Look at the model in 3D and view some of the plan views and remove any unnecessary elements that are not needed for coordination purposes. Delete items like Topo, Site objects, Drafting lines, etc

Step 5 - Purge
File > Purge Unused.
This will remove any unused families and groups thus lower the model size.

Andre Carvalho
2008-04-14, 08:37 PM
Dave,

You may want to add a step 2.5: