PDA

View Full Version : Advice for a novice Revit user

traceyjj
2008-04-29, 09:24 AM
Hi all

I am just taking my first steps learning Revit Architecture. I have recently downloaded the Student version from Autodesk with the aim to learning this in my own time to make myself more marketable.
Are there any major pitfalls to look out for when coming from an AutoCAD/Microstation user of more than 15 years experience?
Can anyone recommend any good quality tutorials (in metric) for me to learn from?
What is the most difficult part to master?
What order, in your opinions, should I be learning things in?
How would I know whether I was doing things correctly (I know this probably sounds inane, but I was thinking about how would you construct the file etc)

I'm sure I will have MANY more questions, but I dont want to bombard you all on my first post in this area :)

Many thanks in advance for any advice and guidance.

etboards17
2008-04-29, 10:01 AM
I am a graduate architecture student at Washington State University and currently teaching the first Revit course.

I found the best way to comfortably use any new program is to have fun with it. If you start by trying to immediately crank out a project, then you are asking for some hard times.

After running through some tutorials, I would recommend you revisit an old project, a project that you may know as well as the back of your hand. This way you can intuitively think about what is right and not right in the design and not have to worry about production time. Doing this leaves out the need for design and only the need to materialize the conditions.

Before starting your first design, I would recommend you download this tutorial from autodesk:

http://revit.downloads.autodesk.com/download/2008/Documents/ENU/TutorialsBuildingMetENU.pdf