View Full Version : Layer password control
drsvsmani
2008-04-29, 04:06 AM
do u have a lisp for locking layers by using passwords or making layer invisible using lisp in autocad2006?
svsmani
rkmcswain
2009-06-22, 05:59 PM
You can make entities invisible. Take a look at the 60 DXF code.
mweaver
2009-06-23, 02:18 AM
Any routine to lock layers with a password would require a reactor to watch for access to those layers.
It can be done, but it isn't exactly trivial.
Mike
howardjosh
2009-06-23, 10:41 AM
The invisible element might still be needed to actually hold the password in a semi-secure way. You can not store data with a persistent reactor after the drawing has been closed. So you would have to drop dxf data on something or make a key file to check the password against. Additionally the reactor is targeting a function that would have to be loaded each time that drawing is opened. So there are quite a few problems that would make it rather un-realistic, but still possible....
mweaver
2009-06-23, 11:12 AM
I would prefer to call it "challenging" rather than "un-realistic":-)
peter
2009-06-23, 12:29 PM
Here is a program that I wrote to lock down layers
(so they can't be unlocked by the layer command)
It could be modified to freeze layers or add a password like your inquiry states.
Peter
I would prefer to call it "challenging" rather than "un-realistic":-)
Anyone could also disable all of the reactors making the reactor option unrealistic.
mweaver
2009-06-24, 01:49 AM
Certainly not your average user. Any user who can disable your reactors better know enough to conform to your standards, otherwise he's likely more dangerous than your average user.
Certainly not your average user. Any user who can disable your reactors better know enough to conform to your standards, otherwise he's likely more dangerous than your average user.
If that average user is an AUGI member, they would probably ask how to bypass it. :p
Anyway, I think the OP's question has been answered a few times already. ;)
peter
2009-06-24, 04:19 PM
You could redefine commands like (vlr-remove-all) like
(defun VLR-REMOVE-ALL () (alert "\nYou cannot disable the reactors"))
So the user would have a hard time disabling the reactors.
Then you could place the (load "locklayer") in the mnl file somewhere where it would be hard to find to prevent its loading.
You could also write a VBa event using the LISP reference library that would reload the reactors if they did get turned off.
I can modify my routine to your specification, what do you want it to do exactly?
Peter
jofarrell
2009-06-24, 09:30 PM
Peter,
Is there any way this can be coded to apply for the layer pulldown aswell as the layer manager?
Jordan
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.5 Copyright © 2025 vBulletin Solutions Inc. All rights reserved.