PDA

View Full Version : I want to do these four things. Any ideas?

dpasa
2004-09-16, 06:05 AM
I am quite new to Revit. I just discovered that with Revit you can finish a simple building in one day. I really needed that!

Now I try to make a more complex project. I send you an older project rendered with Accurender and AutoCAD. You can see the 4 points where I need help.

Thanks in advance for your time.

P.S. I remind you, new to Revit. Please be patient.

beegee
2004-09-16, 07:25 AM
1. Gable End.

I would model that as a wall, setting the bottom level at the ceiling level and making the height explicit to finish above the roof. Then select the wall, attach top and select the roof.

2. Parapet Roof.

Again, I would model that as a wall, complete with curved segment and a hosted sweep reveal. Make the explicit height to suit or attach the top to a reference plane.

3. Planter & Surround.

Walls again with a floor for the top slab. Make it all out the same materials so you can join geometry.

4. Stepped Balustrade and Railing.

The stepped part can be modeled as a wall with its profile edited to create the steps. If the railing is exactly like the one on the upper level, you could try using that again. It might look OK if its partly "buried" in the stepped solid. If it doesn't work that way, you would need to either create specific sections of railing or else model some sweeps to get the joining portions of the railing.

dpasa
2004-09-16, 10:29 AM
Thanks beegee.

Everything ok except No1. There is no roof behind. Just this wall.
To be more specific the real problem is that I can't have a sweep following the wall profile.
When I choose wall sweep I have only two options. When I tried with mass elements I saw that the path should be 2D. So if the wall had one more turn it would be impossible.

So, let me ask again: How do we make a sweep that follows the wall profile?

sohocad
2004-09-16, 10:58 AM
here one to get you started....

dpasa
2004-09-16, 03:47 PM