PDA

View Full Version : Older system and video card question

Denis01
2008-06-28, 04:39 AM
I'm relaunching a small, 1 person architecture practice and I'm brand new to Revit and AutoCad Architecture (I'm from the old, manual drafting school). I just purchased the 2009 Revit Suite and will be taking the Revit camp in a few weeks in Little Rock. I'll be loading the software on a (c.2004) HP d330 desk top (2.67 G Hz Pentium 4 SP2, 2.3 gb of ram and a 320 gb hard drive. I plan to upgrade the standard video card with an NVIDIA e-GeForce 8600 GT/1gb with dual DVI. Does anyone happen to know if the motherboard and processor will handle this video card, and will Revit 2009 run on this configuration?

I haven't yet loaded the software but am excited to be getting into this and want to get onto the learning curve. I'll eventually get a new machine, probably a laptop, but with just plunking down big bucks for the software, I'll need to figure out what to get for a system, as well as get a some cash flowing again before spend another chunk of $$$.

iankids
2008-06-28, 06:29 AM
Hi Dryfly,

Welcome aboard.

There is a wealth of info on the hardware section of the forum.

My guess is that Revit will run OK. The specs on my box are a little newer and slightly better than yours and it runs fine - although I did upgrade the ram to 4gig. This version of Revit seems to me to be far more Ram hungry than 2008.

The video card is the one thing I would look at very carefully as this is the one piece of hardware which, based on the number of posts, causes more grief than anything else. Have check through the numerous posts on video cards & check if it is one ones recommended for use with Open GL.

Having made the change to Revit almost a year ago, there are two things which stand out from the past twelve months.
One, I under estimated what a big learning curve it was to become efficient and two, I now constantly ask myself why I didn't make the change years ago!!

Cheers,

Ian

Denis01