PDA

View Full Version : Changes! - Revit is not living up to it's user friendly name.

3dway
2008-09-15, 06:58 PM
Hi Everyone.

We're doing a custom home. We had is designed and we've had to cut the area down. We slashed a foot out in three places along the longitudinal dimension, we slashed a foot out across the short dimension.

I had to bounce the plans out to autocad to finish them for a pressing deadline and since I'm new to revit, I couldn't finish things in time using revit.

To cut area in autocad I stretch the plans three times using a polygonal selection crossing and take a foot out each time.

I thought that it would make sense to send the plan back to revit and move/align whatever the walls to the autocad plan.

On the advice of one poster here, I had set up a grid line at outside face of stud and constrained the wall and foundation wall below to the grid line. This was supposed to let me move just the grid line and the wall moves with it's foundation wall below. I'm statisfied to go in an edit floor outlines ect after everything is generally in place.

Just about every time I try to move something I get a message that I cannot ignore about either it won't let me move the wall or it has to break all of the constraints an unjoin everything. It's getting to the point where it feels like it would be faster to draw it all over again.

I cannot do this. Part of what sold revit to us is that it's supposed to make these very kind of changes easier.

We hack areas down often. Clients always ignore our adivce on square footage and we end up cutting things like this when the price comes in. It so happens that this one was not for budget reasons and it was much earlier in the project. I'm chagrinned to thing how hard this would be if I were trying to hack area out of working drawings like ususal.

What am I doing wrong? What sort of setup can I do to make this sort of change possible?

nsinha73
2008-09-15, 07:29 PM