PDA

View Full Version : **Attention All Revit Gurus** - Teaching Revit

Brandon_Pike
2008-09-23, 08:39 PM
To All Revit Gurus,

I have been using Revit for 5 years now and a new firm I am at is having me teach and implement Revit company wide, Architecture and MEP. I have never taught Revit in a classroom environment before; I was looking for any last minute advice or comments from all you Revit Gurus out there on teaching Revit.

Thanks!

saeborne
2008-09-23, 09:32 PM
My advice?

RUN!!!!

If you can't run... I would definitely argue that the students must be learning while they are physically at a revit work station. It's one thing to watch someone teach revit. It's quite another, when the student has to replicate the commands. The comprehension is many times greater than a lecture style class.

Bryan

davidcobi
2008-09-23, 09:53 PM
When working at an individual's workstation take note of questions asked and share what you taught with the whole class at your next session so everyone can benefit from common questions asked.

twiceroadsfool
2008-09-24, 12:43 AM
Keep your hands off the mouse and keyboard.

When i teach, i have a tendancy to *drive.* If im driving, theyre not doing it. Make them do it...

Andre Carvalho
2008-09-24, 12:56 AM
Don't show your tips and tricks in a first moment. Save it for later and show them the regular way of doing things, first. Then later, show your trick as the easiest way. They will find it easier and will take note and memorize that because they can now compare with the regular way of doing the same thing. If you start by showing the easiest way, they don't have anything to compare and will likely not memorize it as being something important...

Andre Carvalho

Dimitri Harvalias
2008-09-24, 02:44 AM