PDA

View Full Version : Families and Materials

dimitri
2008-12-02, 10:20 PM
Hi all,
Does anyone know if you can specify two different parts of one family as two different materials?

i.e. I'm trying to create a concrete wall panel (which i've done) that has a wall joint of mortar or other material, on either side. Essentially, i want to be able to collect the quantities of the two materials separately when i export a material takeoff.

Is this possible?

p.s. i'm quite new to Revit Architecture. Only been using it for about 2 weeks after a 3 day training course at CADD Centres of Florida (a place i recommend highly).

My apologies, i should have put this in the 'Families' section. :(

Andre Carvalho
2008-12-02, 11:00 PM
Sure you can. If I got it right, the panels and the mortar are two different elements as part of the same family. Just select the panel element and select a material for it and do the same for the mortar and select another material. You can even create material parameters to them...

Andre Carvalho

dimitri
2008-12-03, 04:46 PM
Your reassurance worked! I went back and realized i did something wrong, instead of thinking what i wanted wasn't possible. Thanks.

patricks
2008-12-03, 06:27 PM
Be aware that joined geometry in a family can NOT have separate material parameters, for whatever strange reason. Even the visibility parameters become joined when you join geometry in a family. :roll:

dimitri
2008-12-03, 06:53 PM
Yeah i had a hunch that would be the case. But it doesn't pose a problem for me. What seems to be the issue is after i've created the family and place one in a project...i attempt to put another one adjacent to the first, but aligned to a particular part of the first object. However, whenever i bring the second instance too close to the first instance, it aligns to a part i do not want it to align to. I've attached a picture of what happens, and the .rfa file of the family i initially created. Can anyone help?