PDA

View Full Version : Plan Graphics Residential - showing structure

3dway
2008-12-08, 09:58 PM
We have a structural consultant size our wood frame strucuture and we show it on our plans.

At the very least I hope to be able to recreate what we did in ACAD but in Revit. See attached image.

I'm still learning Revit so please be patient if my terms and methods are not correct.

Would you:
Make a dependant floor plan and edit the graphics settings so that only the structural lines and notes showed then somehow underlay or overlay that on the plan. I'd like it show on the plan where it belongs at full line weight.

Then somehow underlay it on the level below so you can see the point loads from above. This seems like a problem because you would have to underlay the full lineweight structure for that level as well.

In a perfect world we would have 3d structure in the model and would be able to detect collisions and know if a post goes unsupportted. Say you move a wall below, you get a warning that there's a post in that wall that is now unsupportted. And lintels would warn you that they're receiving a point load from above. Not sure how to do that in Revit Architecture alone.

Thanks for any info.

3dway
2008-12-09, 01:34 PM
Bump for me.

Does everyone just put this stuff in with drafting lines?

ghale
2008-12-09, 02:39 PM
Most of the structure in our residential projects is represented with drafting lines until we get into some of the steel framing. Structural views are created and bearing walls are defined, such that only bearing walls are shown.

3dway
2008-12-09, 08:57 PM
I'm quite new to Revit. Is it nieve of me to think that this is underusing it?

When I think of modelling the structure, how would you superimpose that with the walls?

ghale
2008-12-09, 09:09 PM