PDA

View Full Version : Decision for a newbie

mephasm
2009-01-05, 11:06 AM
hi,

First I'd like to say hello to all the great ppl out here. I'd be very grateful if you could help with my questions.

I am a seasoned (!) architecture student. Now I am about to deliver my diploma project. And I've been trying to make my mind for the means to deliver it. It is a museum project by the way.

You see I can deliver it by just drawing in Autocad. But I have only 10 days left, and I'd really like a 3d model too, which will be very hard to catch up if I go autocad way.

I have some experience with Allplan BIM, so I know what a bim is, but schedules or such is not my case here. I have delivered a previous project fully drawn in Allplan, and visualised by Cinema 4d.

My question is, do you think I can accomplish this in Revit, in such a short time (10 days), considering I have no pro. experience with revit, and I have just went through getting started tutorial, and some in tutorial menu?

For example, I have managed to model my detailed, and huge topography in revit. And i tried to use those tools for the first time. Will all process be like this? Is it so easy to understand?

And secondly, will I be able to export the sections and views in 2d, just in case all goes messed up?

Sorry for testing your patience, but last question: I have modelled the topo, now I will go in detail on it. Make some pads or so. But I would like to keep my original topo in backup. how can this be done in revit, since it is just one file. If was allplan, i would copy in a seperate drawing file in the same project, and in the same coordinates.

Thank you for the time, I hope I was clear enough with my English.

Sincerely, Emre.

aggockel50321
2009-01-05, 01:46 PM
I have students here that can pick it up reasonably after a few days (usually 3-4 hours per day) of working through the tutorials.