PDA

View Full Version : Estimating Software

adegnan
2004-10-13, 12:16 PM
How many of you are actually involved in estimating? What software do you use or recommend?

Right now I use my own excel spreadsheet carried over from the days of pencil and paper. While it prevents mathematical errors that I would otherwise make with pencil and paper, it is only as good as the data that I have to use in it and my abilities as a spreadsheet-maker.

I am a residential design builder and remodelor. The other issue I am facing is, I am looking at a significant change in what I build. I am trying to work on detail and design over size; win clients with the "not so big house" rather than competing with other McMansions. So, there are some areas of detail that I do not yet have good historical data on, in terms of estimating installatin numbers.

Also, as some say, "garbage in, garbage out." I am not satisfied with the accuracy of the timesheet data that I am collecting from the field; it does not relate back to my spreadsheet in a consistent manner. I am re-working my reporting categories, and want to simplify the way data is reported back to me while increasing the detail of my estimates.

That is, I will have a more general reporting category, but for estimating I want to dig deeper into the sub-categories for estimating.

So, this leads to two more questions--

How many of you residential designers or builders work with CSI categories for division of labor, etc? If you don't use CSI, what do you use? I hear that a lot of people use the Hometech categores, even if they don't use the Hometech estimating system. There is also a DCA numbering system that I've run into with one title company in this area.

Right now, I am considering 3 options:

-Spreadsheet. Continue what I do now, improve upon it. (Disadvantage: I have limitations on my knowledge and do not have a resource to hire to do it for me... yet. Advantage: I can fine tune it to be whatever I want it to be.)