PDA

View Full Version : How do you load a ARX file?



zorroxxxx
2004-10-13, 06:06 PM
I was searching the web for LISP files and came across an interesting ARX file which draws 3D Bolts. I have never heard of a ARX file extension.

What are they?
Are they somewhat like Diesel or Scripting files?
Can some one tell me how to load one of these files?

Thanks in advance!!!

Gary

mjfarrell
2004-10-13, 06:11 PM
Type APPLOAD and then browse to the location of
that ARX application.

RobertB
2004-10-13, 08:20 PM
… I have never heard of a ARX file extension.
What are they?
Are they somewhat like Diesel or Scripting files?
Gary, they are programs written in C++ and compiled using the ObjectARX SDK. The advantage to them is that AutoCAD considers them to be extensions of itself (think speed and access to the guts of AutoCAD).

BrenBren
2004-10-13, 08:33 PM
You can also load .arx files the same way you load .lsp files, through the load/unload applications dialog. Type appload at the prompt and follow the dialog box. You can also add it to the start-up suite so it loads everytime. I think this is the simplest way to do it, although there are other (better??) ways to do this

LanceMcHatton
2005-08-18, 10:55 PM
Is there a way to load .arx files from the command line?

Mike.Perry
2005-08-18, 11:16 PM
Hi

Use the _.ARX command ie.

Command: _.ARX
Enter an option [?/Load/Unload/Commands/Options]: _L (setting system variable FileDia = 0 will force command line entry, instead of "Select ARX/DBX File" dialog box opening)

OR

Look at the AutoLISP function "arxload"

OR

...

Have a good one, Mike

LanceMcHatton
2005-08-18, 11:27 PM
Hi

Use the _.ARX command ie.

Command: _.ARX
Enter an option [?/Load/Unload/Commands/Options]: _L (setting system variable FileDia = 0 will force command line entry, instead of "Select ARX/DBX File" dialog box opening)

OR

Look at the AutoLISP function "arxload"
I just discovered the ARX command and entered that into my LISP file. However, since it's better to use LISP functions as opposed to commands, I will try out the ARXLOAD function.

Here's my command code if anyone's interested:


(command "arx" "l" "C:\\progra~1\\LandDe~2\\Express\\dwglog.arx")

Thanks, Mike!

zorroxxxx
2005-08-19, 02:32 AM
Thanks to all that replied.

I have it working. It was not what I was looking for, but at least I learned about the ARX file.

Gary

caddcop
2009-06-01, 02:51 PM
When I tried this in 2008, my command line echos:

Command: (command "ARX" "L" "C:

And I have to hit ESC to restore any operation. Apparently, it does not like the c:\path as far as I can tell.

rkmcswain
2009-06-01, 03:19 PM
When I tried this in 2008, my command line echos:

Command: (command "ARX" "L" "C:

And I have to hit ESC to restore any operation. Apparently, it does not like the c:\path as far as I can tell.

Either use double back slashes or a single forward slash.


(command "._ARX" "_L" "C:\\mypath\\myarx.arx")
;; --or--
(command "._ARX" "_L" "C:/mypath/myarx.arx")

caddcop
2009-06-01, 05:47 PM
OK, does the fact that I'm putting this in a menu customization change things?

This is my menu string:
^C^C(command "._ARX "_L" "C:\\Progra~1\\Yada\\Yada\\Yada\\Program.arx");

And my command line responce:
(command "._ARX "_L" "C:

and then nothing...

rkmcswain
2009-06-01, 05:56 PM
Yes. In that case, you have to use the single forward slash.

caddcop
2009-06-01, 06:35 PM
I'm going to wear out my welcome...

OK, with forward slashes, it now echos back:

(command "._ARX "_L" "C:/Progra~1/Yada/Yada/Yada/Program.arx")
("_>

(on two lines as shown)
As it awaits some unknown responce.

Sorry to be such a pain...

rkmcswain
2009-06-01, 07:17 PM
You are missing a quote mark at the end of the ._ARX

It should be: (command "._ARX" "_L" "C:/Progra~1/Yada/Yada/Yada/Program.arx")

caddcop
2009-06-01, 08:24 PM
Some day, they will develop a computer that does what you mean, not what you say.

Thanks for all your patients with a neophyte.

rkmcswain
2009-06-01, 09:05 PM
Thanks for all your patients with a neophyte.

No problem. Good luck.