PDA

View Full Version : Roof Construction Characteristics

dalewww
2004-10-14, 05:29 PM
I am new to Revit (very new, demo only till our disks come in) but have been on other 3D based AEC programs for 10 years. I am disappointed to see how much Revit lacks in automation when it come to constructing a residential roof.

Please tell me if I am missing something. I have checked older post and found bits and pieces of information that makes a little sense but still not all put together.

We do custom homes with varying pitches, overhangs, soffits, eaves, fascias, with changing heal heights, bearing locations, and top cord and bottom cord thicknesses. I have not found Revit's roof family to not follow typical roof construction characteristics. First surprise was that it doesn't have a truss (vaulted, cathedral, tray, etc.) or rafter creator (like Softplan and Archicad). Second, I cannot specify heights based on what is needed in a roof truss (heal height being the main one). Revit, to my finding so far, only shows a top cord and the rest (bottom cord, heal wall, soffit, fascia) needs to be filled in. I am worrying about this now because roofs are a big part of our design.

As of right now, it seems even that we will have to stop all of our roofs at the wall and create a soffit family that can follow the path of the roof. But even then comes the issue of changing from a 5'-0" overhang to a 2'-0" overhang.

Can anyone rest my mind that this will become easily understood, the way a roof gets built? If Revit does actually follow the roof construction characteristics, could someone please direct me to finding it?

papurajx
2004-10-15, 04:08 AM
I assume that you are too quick to jump to this conclusion. Revit can create complicated roofs be it residential or not. It will not create roofs with couple of lines and 2 or 3 clicks here and there.

Please post the roof plan or 3D view of the roof you wish to create and we will help you to get it done.