PDA

View Full Version : Linework Tool - Fragile results?

3dway
2009-01-30, 09:54 PM
I'm fairly new to Revit and have not had much luck getting my elevations to look nice and a good depth profile. I'd love any tips on getting this to work without using the linework tool.

RE the linework tool.

Are the results of the linework tool meant to be this fragile? If I make any kind of change to a part of the model, the linework goes away. Sometimes the linework is still there but the thickness doesn't show. If I go in and drag the blue dot off then back on the original linework thickness comes back. If the geometry has changed significantly, the linework is gone.

This following one probably belongs in the whishlist topic:
Could we have point to point linework please? Zooming an elevation view of a complex model tends to be slow and I often find that the other end of a line I'm tring to change goes way off behind in the model and I have to go fishing for the blue dot. Why not have an interface that duplicates the process of drawing a line by picking the two points and selecting a line style, but operates the same way as dragging the blue dots. Dragging the blue dots is capable of multiple segmets with varying line styles, which seems pretty complex to me. Surely point to point drawing of the limits of the linework would be feasible.

3dway
2009-02-02, 03:13 PM
I would sincerely appreciate any words of knowledge.

Sometimes even, "the community has griped about this since releace X, and you may just have to accept that there is no better alternative. Here's what I do to cope...." helps.

Thanks.

bbeck
2009-02-02, 05:41 PM