Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456
Results 51 to 59 of 59

Thread: Revit 2010 - Graphics Cards that work (and those that dont)

  1. #51
    Revit Arch. Wishlist Mgr. Wes Macaulay's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    Vancouver, BC CANADA
    Posts
    3,348
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revit 2010 - Graphics Cards that work (and those that dont)

    Not really. That chipset will likely work as good as any IGP you'll find out there. You might not be able to have a ton of views open at once: that's the only problem I've seen with the IGP hardware. My wife has an Radeon 1150 IGP in her Dell laptop, and it works great with Revit.
    Wes Macaulay LEED AP
    Teck Construction LLP
    Revit 2014 x64 | Win7 x64 | nVidia GT 650M
    Tell Adesk what you think!

  2. #52
    Member
    Join Date
    2004-06
    Posts
    11
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revit 2010 - Graphics Cards that work (and those that dont)

    Hi All
    The problem with Revit 2010 and quadro/FireGL cards are that they DO NOT support Direct X. So if you activate this your inviting trouble!
    The only cards that will have a possitive impact are standard gaming cards like GeForce.

    Ånond

  3. #53
    AUGI Addict ws's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Ambleside, Lake District, UK
    Posts
    1,222
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revit 2010 - Graphics Cards that work (and those that dont)

    Hmm, if so why does Revit 2010 run fine with DirectX enabled on my Quadro FX3800?

    In fact I can have Revit running on DirectX and Nemetschek Allplan running on OpenGL both at the same time with no problems.

  4. #54
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2015-09
    Posts
    479
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revit 2010 - Graphics Cards that work (and those that dont)

    That was my next question as to how the FireGL cards are working with Vista 64x and RAC 2010 with multiple screens. I'm getting ready to build a new desktop.

  5. #55
    NavisWorks Moderator david.kingham's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-07
    Location
    Fort Collins, CO
    Posts
    1,329
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revit 2010 - Graphics Cards that work (and those that dont)

    Because what anond said is not true, firegl and quadro support both opengl and directx, now some lower end models will not work well with directx, for example most of our workstations have firegl v3400's and don't play well with revit with directx, they didn't work well with opengl either, they're just cheap cards. But in my desktop I have a v7600 and works great with directx and worked great with opengl. IMHO it's not worth spending more on the better cards though, just shut off directx and the lower end cards work fine.

  6. #56
    Active Member andrewharle's Avatar
    Join Date
    2016-01
    Location
    Harrow, UK
    Posts
    50
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revit 2010 - Graphics Cards that work (and those that dont)

    Quote Originally Posted by david.kingham View Post
    ..firegl and quadro support both opengl and directx...some lower end models will not work well with directx....
    Has anyone got experience of running Revit 2010 with ATI FireGL V3350 cards on XP? If so what's the verdict?

    thanks
    Andy Harle
    Revit 2016 windows 7

  7. #57
    Member Design Apparatus's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-08
    Location
    Spokane, WA
    Posts
    47
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revit 2010 - Graphics Cards that work (and those that dont)

    I tried downloading the newest Windows Vista x64 driver to load in a Parallels 4.0 VM and it says it cannot install. Would like to use in Revit 2010 in this environment. Just curious.

  8. #58
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2015-10
    Location
    Wellington , NZ
    Posts
    565
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revit 2010 - Graphics Cards that work (and those that dont)

    Quote Originally Posted by ws View Post
    Hmm, if so why does Revit 2010 run fine with DirectX enabled on my Quadro FX3800?

    In fact I can have Revit running on DirectX and Nemetschek Allplan running on OpenGL both at the same time with no problems.

    Yes Will,
    its stange this whole thing.
    I upgraded to Vista 64 SP2, and 8 Gb RAM +RAC 20-10 x64 WU-1, about 6 weeks ago and my NVidia Quadro FX1500 (old now at 2yrs) is once again working almost the same as RAC 2009 WU-3, where on the factory DVD build of 2010, it was terrible really.

    Direct 3D is enabled and at last seems much better (not 100% , but much better)
    I am thankful the factory was able to sort that issue out.
    trombe.

  9. #59
    All AUGI, all the time clog boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-12
    Location
    Probably near a PC.
    Posts
    839
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revit 2010 - Graphics Cards that work (and those that dont)

    We're using Quadro FX1700 cards on HP XW4600 workstations, Core2quad processors. Direct3D enabled, Anti-alliasing disabled.
    During very productive days I experience probably two to three crashes (a day) and have experienced a few sudden shutdowns. But very little glitches, no artefacts for as far as I can tell.
    LinkedIn

    "Too many variables!" - Mordin

Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456

Similar Threads

  1. Revit 2010: video cards that work
    By Wes Macaulay in forum Revit - Hardware & Operating Systems
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2009-05-23, 11:24 AM
  2. Certified Graphics Cards for Revit
    By janunson in forum Revit - Hardware & Operating Systems
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-04-13, 04:29 AM
  3. ADT Graphics Cards
    By david_peterson in forum ACA General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2006-08-15, 02:35 PM
  4. Revit 7 - Graphic Cards/ Configurations that do NOT work
    By Wes Macaulay in forum Revit - Hardware & Operating Systems
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2005-03-18, 07:50 PM
  5. Revit 7 - Graphic Cards + Configurations that Work with OpenGL / HWACC
    By Wes Macaulay in forum Revit - Hardware & Operating Systems
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2005-02-19, 04:56 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •