See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Raster Design 2010 network license

  1. #1
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2009-04
    Posts
    1
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Raster Design 2010 network license

    Our firm has subscribed to ARD with a single network license for a few years now. Autodesk's policy has always allowed the network licensed version of ARD to run with a standalone license of Autocad/Civil 3D/LDD. With the release of ARD 2010, Autodesk has changed their policy so you must either own stand alone licenses of both or network licenses of both. The cost of this change is either $15,000 or $21,000 depending on the direction of the change. Autodesk did not notify any subscribers (as far as I know) of the change in policy, nor did they tell my reseller (I suspect all resellers) until somebody had problems and they had to call Autodesk to find out.

    I urge each of you who are angered or affected by this change to speak out. Autodesk has such a monopoly on the market, that companies will be virtually forced to shell out the extra money because of a change that was executed on their subscribers without notification and without fulfilling an implied promise that subscribers would be able to pay a certain fee for continued service of the software as purchased.

    It seems that Autocad could be liable for antitrust lawsuits if these types of policies continue.

  2. #2
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Posts
    2,095
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Raster Design 2010 network license

    I seriously doubt this is an "evil empire" issue. In fact, other posts I have read indicate that it's just an oversight on the part of AutoDesk. What, you've never screwed up something?

  3. #3
    Certified AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    5,069
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Raster Design 2010 network license

    agreed that this does not seem to be a policy change -- chalk it up to poor qa/qc and minimal testing on the part of autodesk. much more important to get have flashy bling in the product than to verify that products actually work as customers expect.

    I do agree however, that multiple customer complaints to autodesk would be a good thing. A lack of negative feedback will only encourage more poor performance on autodesk's part.

    Antitrust? nah... there's some competition in the desktop cad market, so monopoly status does not apply.

  4. #4
    Administrator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,803
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Raster Design 2010 network license

    Quote Originally Posted by clbreinholt View Post
    With the release of ARD 2010, Autodesk has changed their policy so you must either own stand alone licenses of both or network licenses of both.
    No they didn't. It was a programming error. Not sure if it has been fixed yet however.
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

Similar Threads

  1. 2016: Raster Design wants a license,,,?
    By boyerd492098 in forum Raster Design - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2015-08-20, 08:40 PM
  2. Inventor suite 2010 Network License via VPN
    By svendb in forum ACA General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2010-11-17, 05:14 PM
  3. Raster Design 2010 error
    By Railrose in forum Raster Design - General
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 2010-04-28, 03:59 PM
  4. Revit 2010 Network License Manager
    By jcoe in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 2010-04-27, 11:37 PM
  5. Network License Activation Utility for ACAD 2010
    By jguest82179 in forum CAD Management - General
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2010-04-16, 07:07 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •