Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: How to Export Animated Hoses

  1. #1
    Design Visualization Moderator stusic's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-10
    Location
    Denver, Colorado
    Posts
    1,514
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Question How to Export Animated Hoses

    When I create hoses, there are no keys. When I export to a 3ds file, there is no animation of the hoses because of this. Is there a way to create keys for hoses and other constrained objects, so they're able to be exported with their corresponding animation?

    Thanks!
    Last edited by stusic; 2009-05-13 at 04:29 AM. Reason: edited out irrelevant data
    Phillip Bradshaw
    Lead Pixel Pusher, Lucid Design Studio
    CAD Detailer, Proctor Productions

    A doctor can bury his mistakes but an architect can only advise his clients to plant vines. - Frank Lloyd Wright

  2. #2
    I could stop if I wanted to dellis's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-12
    Location
    Windsor, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    379
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: How to Export Animated Hoses

    Hmmm...let me think about it and get back to ya. I know there is but it will most likely involve vertex animation...or an animated mesh i mean.

  3. #3
    Design Visualization Moderator stusic's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-10
    Location
    Denver, Colorado
    Posts
    1,514
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: How to Export Animated Hoses

    Wow, I can't even take my hose, go frame by frame and manually add keys, then convert it to a poly. It doesn't keep the animation.

    Wow. I thought for sure that would be a last resort, but sure-fire method. Bummer, back to square one.
    Phillip Bradshaw
    Lead Pixel Pusher, Lucid Design Studio
    CAD Detailer, Proctor Productions

    A doctor can bury his mistakes but an architect can only advise his clients to plant vines. - Frank Lloyd Wright

  4. #4
    I could stop if I wanted to dellis's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-12
    Location
    Windsor, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    379
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: How to Export Animated Hoses

    Are you just trying to bake the animation into the mesh? Do you need to export it to a different package? The point cache modifier will do this. You could also make an animated MR proxy.

  5. #5
    Design Visualization Moderator stusic's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-10
    Location
    Denver, Colorado
    Posts
    1,514
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: How to Export Animated Hoses

    Both, really. I've got to export it in the .3ds format (to use in Right Hemisphere) with the animation intact. I'm not sure how to use the Point Cache mod or an mr proxy. Can you clarify? I'll be doing digging around on this...
    Phillip Bradshaw
    Lead Pixel Pusher, Lucid Design Studio
    CAD Detailer, Proctor Productions

    A doctor can bury his mistakes but an architect can only advise his clients to plant vines. - Frank Lloyd Wright

Similar Threads

  1. 2014: Creating hydraulic hoses
    By jlucas in forum Inventor - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2015-09-14, 04:42 PM
  2. 2000: Need help with 3D piping or hoses
    By keith.hastings253155 in forum AutoCAD 3D (2006 or below)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2011-10-04, 07:56 PM
  3. 2011: hoses
    By StephanieBates in forum Inventor - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2011-04-14, 10:04 PM
  4. Rigged/Animated Character Export to Max 2010?
    By loydg in forum Maya - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2010-08-02, 01:32 PM
  5. Creating Intelligent Hoses
    By stusic in forum 3ds Max - General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2009-05-26, 06:55 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •