Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Translate CUIx into CUI

  1. #1
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2001-01
    Posts
    220
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Translate CUIx into CUI

    Hi All-

    Typically, when I get a new version of AutoCAD I would go into my CUI file with a text editor and globally change the menugroup name to match the AutoCAD version number. However, in AutoCAD 2010, the cui is now a cuix which appears to be a compiled menu file. Does anyone know if there is a way to save the cuix into a file that can be edited with an external editor? Thanks.

    Manuel A. Ayala

  2. #2
    The Silent Type RobertB's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-01
    Location
    Seattle WA USA
    Posts
    5,859
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Translate CUIx into CUI

    Quote Originally Posted by cadconcepts View Post
    Hi All-

    Typically, when I get a new version of AutoCAD I would go into my CUI file with a text editor and globally change the menugroup name to match the AutoCAD version number. However, in AutoCAD 2010, the cui is now a cuix which appears to be a compiled menu file. Does anyone know if there is a way to save the cuix into a file that can be edited with an external editor? Thanks.

    Manuel A. Ayala
    The CUIX format is simply a compressed file. Rename the file's extension to ZIP and you can access its contents.

    But why in the world are you doing this anyway?
    R. Robert Bell
    Design Technology Manager
    Stantec
    Opinions expressed are mine alone and do not reflect the views of Stantec.

  3. #3
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2001-01
    Posts
    220
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Talking Re: Translate CUIx into CUI

    Robert-

    Thanks for the info. That's clever.

    Manuel

  4. #4
    Administrator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,802
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Translate CUIx into CUI

    Quote Originally Posted by RobertB View Post
    Rename the file's extension to ZIP and you can access its contents.
    Also, if you use something like 7-ZIP, it will recognize that it's a ZIP file without having to rename it.
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    2009-05
    Posts
    5
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Translate CUIx into CUI

    after you open them with 7-zip how do you work with them?

  6. #6
    The Silent Type RobertB's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-01
    Location
    Seattle WA USA
    Posts
    5,859
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Translate CUIx into CUI

    Quote Originally Posted by scotts.217338 View Post
    after you open them with 7-zip how do you work with them?
    Editing the CUI file directly is not supported. You do so at your own risk. The CUI file is an XML-formatted file, so any text/xml editor can be used to edit the file.
    R. Robert Bell
    Design Technology Manager
    Stantec
    Opinions expressed are mine alone and do not reflect the views of Stantec.

Similar Threads

  1. Missing pdfic.cuix pdfmacad.cuix
    By kathleen.143968 in forum AutoCAD CUI Menus
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2010-02-01, 10:51 PM
  2. Translate More Than Just Layers
    By autocad.wishlist1734 in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2008-10-12, 06:50 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •