Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: AutoCAD is changing my blocks

  1. #1
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2008-10
    Posts
    53
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default AutoCAD is changing my blocks

    i have my title block split into two differant blocks one that applies to the entire sheetset and one that applies only to the individual sheet. my problem is that when i insert the block ofr the sheet and save it at some point within 24 - 48 hours the block will be replaced with an AutoCAD generated block. it looks almost like the original but the text is black. and it moves a little.
    Any ideas would be gratly helpfull.
    thanks in advance

  2. #2
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    Chesterfield, MI
    Posts
    405
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: AutoCAD is changing my blocks

    When you say it is replaced with an "AutoCAD generated block" - how did you determine this (as opposed to an accidental overwriting of the block)?

    Are you Xref'ing the block into your files or are you inserting it?

    Is anyone else working on this file - someone who could have replaced or redefined this block?

  3. #3
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2008-10
    Posts
    53
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: AutoCAD is changing my blocks

    if someone eles is replacing the blocks then they are creating blocks with names like a$1$acadle345. that is why i thought they were autocad generated blocks they are also very similar to the correct blocks there will only be one or two little changes like plot style or text size that kind of stuff.

  4. #4
    Certifiable AUGI Addict irneb's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-11
    Location
    Jo'burg SA
    Posts
    4,512
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: AutoCAD is changing my blocks

    Some extra info needed:
    1. What ACad version and vertical
    2. Is the block a dynamic block?
    3. Do you use annotative scaling, if so do you save back to an older DWG version?
    Knowledge is proportional to experience, but wisdom is inversely proportional to ego!
    My little bit of "wisdom": Hind-sight is useless, unless used to improve the next forethought!

Similar Threads

  1. Changing rotation angle of blocks using lsp
    By ReachAndre in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2014-08-06, 07:45 PM
  2. changing properties in blocks en masse
    By Maverick91 in forum Dynamic Blocks - Technical
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2013-02-20, 06:21 PM
  3. Changing the layer of objects in blocks
    By .chad in forum ACA General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2008-10-29, 07:41 PM
  4. Blocks Changing Names
    By amandas in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2008-08-29, 06:01 PM
  5. Changing object colours in blocks
    By cadmecheng in forum AutoCAD LT - General
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 2006-05-04, 12:53 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •