Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: problem creating instance of column family on a second floor...

  1. #1
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2006-04
    Posts
    418
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default problem creating instance of column family on a second floor...

    and this happens....its the same column placed on the first......and it comes in like this
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2006-04
    Posts
    418
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: problem creating instance of column family on a second floor...

    still need someone to explain whats going on with this column on second floor....in addition i am looking at my 3-d views and elevations and its in wireframe though either hidden line of shaded

  3. #3
    AUGI Addict Andre Carvalho's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-06
    Location
    Toronto, ON
    Posts
    2,386
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: problem creating instance of column family on a second floor...

    Looks like the base of the columns on either first floor or second floor are sitting on their respective levels. Now the top of the column on the second floor is at the same level of the top of the columns sitting on the first floor. Looks like there is a constraint in the family setting the height from the reference level. Are you sue that the column on the second floor is actually hosted by level 2?

    Or just post the family so we can take a look.

    Andre Carvalho

  4. #4
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2006-04
    Posts
    418
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: problem creating instance of column family on a second floor...

    here it is....i locked the little horizontal block to a ref plane to keep it from floating
    Attached Files Attached Files

  5. #5
    AUGI Addict Andre Carvalho's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-06
    Location
    Toronto, ON
    Posts
    2,386
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: problem creating instance of column family on a second floor...

    Quote Originally Posted by ntnik View Post
    here it is....i locked the little horizontal block to a ref plane to keep it from floating
    Alright. I edited your family and noticed that the elements for the top of the column had their work plane set to unassigned. Then I just selected one by one an for each I went to the "Edit Work Plane" option and changed it to the top level. It is fine now.

    Columns are families that have two reference levels: The bottom one and the top one, so when you insert them into your project you can set them to be connected from one level to the other. Because your top elements were unassigned they were just still at the height they were modeled in your family.

    I hope it makes sense.

    See attached.

    Andre Carvalho
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #6
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2006-04
    Posts
    418
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: problem creating instance of column family on a second floor...

    that makes a hell of a lot of sense.........thanks for the time, appreciate it

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2012-07-04, 08:07 PM
  2. Column Family and foundation problem
    By JH75 in forum Revit Structure - Families
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2010-05-23, 09:26 AM
  3. Column family problem
    By winnwgomez in forum Revit Structure - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-07-28, 06:27 AM
  4. Structural Family - Instance Parameter Problem
    By rdaniel in forum Revit Architecture - Families
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2007-08-27, 01:27 AM
  5. Creating new floor family
    By mmenendez in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2007-03-29, 12:32 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •