Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Importing Points to a Surface

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2009-03
    Posts
    8
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Importing Points to a Surface

    Hi all, I'm looking for some help with some points that I have. I was able to create a surface from a grading plan. Now that I have that, I want to import points from a text file. These have id,x,y only. I want them to take on the elevation of the surface at the point where they are overlain. Then, I need to be able to export these back to a text file, but this time with id,x,y,z.

    These points are boring holes. I will use this text file to import into gINT to show the grade level on each boring. Thanks!

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    2009-03
    Posts
    8
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Importing Points to a Surface

    You import points with zero elevation into some point group.
    Create your surface from your surface file
    In Toolspace, go to Point Groups and select All Points or the point group you have created.
    Make sure you have item view toggled on with the little icon at the top of Toolspace.
    You should see a list of all points. Select all your points (I had to do 100 at a time since doing all of them crashed my computer) Right click them and select "elevations from surface". Your points now have the same elevation as the surface where they are located.

    Exporting them was the same as importing the points. I had to add elevation to my Point File Format.

  3. #3
    All AUGI, all the time brian.hailey933139's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-12
    Location
    Loveland, CO
    Posts
    734
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Importing Points to a Surface

    That's exactly the way I would have done it as well. Can't think of a better way off the top of my head.

    Thanks for sharing the solution you found.
    Brian J. Hailey PE
    CAD-1
    Civil3D PLUS My blog
    At Your Desk Training

Similar Threads

  1. Importing CAD with points:
    By jj mac in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2010-04-22, 04:06 PM
  2. IMPORTING POINTS
    By mwilson in forum AutoCAD Map 3D - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2007-05-18, 12:04 PM
  3. I have points, since I make a surface with these points?
    By sergio_garces_salgado in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - Surfaces
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-10-09, 05:34 PM
  4. Importing GPS points
    By drafting_specialist96337 in forum Land Desktop - General
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 2006-07-25, 02:47 PM
  5. help with importing points
    By blumpy in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2006-01-11, 07:36 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •