Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 34

Thread: Render Revit Model with new Twilight Render Engine

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2009-03
    Posts
    6
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Render Revit Model with new Twilight Render Engine

    Revit's render engine limits my 8 core machine to 2 threads Looks great, but...

    I made this little tutorial, thought it may be helpful to all the talented Revit folks here...
    ****
    Revit to SketchUp to Twilight Render in 5 Steps
    ****

    There's a NEW RENDER PLUGIN FOR SKETCHUP called "Twilight Render" that for $59 intro price will render on ALL PROCESSORS in your machine - for no extra charge.

    High quality, very fast, simple to learn...(in comparison to learning how to build a family properly in Revit for instance )

    Tons of Material Templates, IES lights, HDR lighting, DOF, Auto-Clay Rendering, many Render Setting Presets, - pretty much all the advanced features you could want if you are an advanced render guru... + Biased AND 3 UnBiased Progressive render methods!

    Intermediate users of SketchUp can learn to use it in 30mins or less with free video tutorials.

    My favorite part is that you can use ALL THE PROCESSORS you bought when you paid for your computer. A Corei7 (8 threads) machine can be bought at NewEgg for $970 in the States! But Revit will limit its use to 2...

    Here's a rendering I made with Twilight Render Plugin for SketchUp of a 1920s school auditorium renovation... (they wanted black back-painted glass)


    Hope you can find this useful for one of your projects.

  2. #2
    AUGI Addict truevis's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-07
    Location
    Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    1,191
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Render Revit Model with new Twilight Render Engine

    Quote Originally Posted by FletchMT View Post
    ...Here's a rendering I made with Twilight Render Plugin for SketchUp of a 1920s school auditorium renovation... (they wanted black back-painted glass)...
    Looks promising. What was the render time & 'puter hardware for that image?

  3. #3
    Certifiable AUGI Addict twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-01
    Location
    ---
    Posts
    4,516
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Render Revit Model with new Twilight Render Engine

    Quote Originally Posted by truevis View Post
    Looks promising. What was the render time & 'puter hardware for that image?
    Looks like a great image. So thats a Revit model that went through this process? How much post was done in PS afterwards?

  4. #4
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2007-06
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    602
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Render Revit Model with new Twilight Render Engine

    Hi Fletch,

    Render looks good. I have used the demo version a couple of times now & I must say it is very easy to use (simpler than learning Kerkythea itself), and gives quite good results.

    Even though twilight is very inexpensive, I am hanging out until Thea Render is available for demo, as, from what is posted in the forum, it looks like it will be sensational.

    Ian

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    2009-03
    Posts
    6
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Render Revit Model with new Twilight Render Engine

    Quote Originally Posted by iankids View Post
    Even though twilight is very inexpensive, I am hanging out until Thea Render is available
    Ian

    Thea is a completely different engine (I'm on the Alpha team for Thea), and I have no idea when it will be available for commercial purchase... but can say not likely terribly soon...

    Twilight is available today, is rock-bottom-cheap for such an incredible program, and is so fun to use that, well... it's up to you. If it were me, I'd buy both for this price... Thea will also have a completely different interface.

    @True and Twice - it's been many moons since I did that image... it was early beta phase for Twilight Render... so can't really say. It was rendered in an Unbiased mode (progressive) overnight on a quad core at work. That quad cost $6000 three years ago, now I have 8 threads for $1000... great time to get a new machine.

    Post processing for image above was just putting 2D people in using a Pshop plugin for RPCs, and some slight tone mapping/glow or something... basically this is straight Twilight output above.

    I don't recall if that was a Revit model in the example pic. above, I have one that was certainly a Revit model rendered with Twilight here:

    Only post-pro was some tone mapping / glow

  6. #6
    Revit Technical Specialist - Autodesk Scott D Davis's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-04
    Location
    Chino, CA
    Posts
    4,756
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Render Revit Model with new Twilight Render Engine

    Couple of things: Revit's Academy Award Winning mental ray rendering engine uses up to four cores, not two.

    Secondly, by the time you get done exporting to DWG, importing into Sketchup, and reapplying all materials by layer to a sketchup model that probably won't handle large amounts of geometry as a DWG import without coming to a crawl, I could be done rendering in Revit, where all the materials are already applied and I simply hit the Render button.

    They do look nice, but so do Revit's rendered images and I never have to leave my application.
    Scott D Davis
    Sr AEC Technical Specialist
    Autodesk, Inc.

    http://about.me/scottddavis

  7. #7
    AUGI Addict truevis's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-07
    Location
    Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    1,191
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Render Revit Model with new Twilight Render Engine

    Quote Originally Posted by Scott Davis View Post
    ..Secondly, by the time you get done exporting to DWG, importing into Sketchup, and reapplying all materials by layer to a sketchup model that probably won't handle large amounts of geometry as a DWG import without coming to a crawl, I could be done rendering in Revit, where all the materials are already applied and I simply hit the Render button...
    I kind-of agree with you. But just as Adesk has a $5k solution for getting to the next step in rendering, this $.06k method might be useful for some.

    BTW, these features wouldn't hurt to have inside Revit's renderer:

    • Continue Working in/Saving Models While Rendering
    Multiple Render Methods
    Biased (multiple) (non-progressive)
    Unbiased (3) (progressive)
    Multithread to Unlimited Number of Processors.
    (1,2,4,8, or 16 cores in your machine? No problem. No extra charge!)
    Alpha Mask for Selected Object(s)
    Render Selected Object(s)
    Parallel, Spherical, or Physical Cameras
    Physically accurate materials, Fresnel reflections, Blurry Metal Reflections, Sub Surface Scattering, Volumetrics and more.

    Depth of Field (DOF)
    Image Based Lighting (HDR), Use an HDR to light your scene, or Render your own spherical HDR images
    Interactive Tonemapping = Real Time Interactive Exposure Adjustment
    Render to Pass (works with selected object too!) such as Alpha Mask, Depth Render, Diffuse Pass,Specular Pass
    Render fly-thru animations and more with little fuss
    Render Animated Lights, Sun&Sky, or Objects Object animations created with SketchyPhysics or ProperAnimation for SketchUp are supported. (these plugins are available separately from their authors.)
    Render Quick Concept Images or get as Photo-Realistic as you want to make it.
    Render Edges of Faces and you keep full control of the edge thickness

  8. #8
    AUGI Addict truevis's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-07
    Location
    Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    1,191
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Render Revit Model with new Twilight Render Engine

    Does post-Accurender Revit still add material definitions in extended entity data in its DWG exports? There was an AutoLISP function that was in the AccuRender for AutoCAD demo version that would return the AR material name associated with an object. How might that be accomplished in the current Revit version's DWG exports?

    The materials are much more useful than just the objects' layers.

    (If I find it, I'll report back.)

  9. #9
    Revit Mararishi aaronrumple's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-02
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    4,695
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Render Revit Model with new Twilight Render Engine

    Quote Originally Posted by truevis View Post
    Does post-Accurender Revit still add material definitions in extended entity data in its DWG exports?
    Yes and no. When going from Revit 2010 to Max 2010 using dwg, there seems to be an issue with real world mapping scale. It is easily fixed, but a pita. I haven't had a chance to see if there is an official resolution. The materials do come over and same with FBX.
    Don't drink the Kool-Aid...
    Aaron Rumple, AIA

  10. #10
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Render Revit Model with new Twilight Render Engine

    Twilight Rocks!

    I just downloaded the trial version and installed it. I ran it on a Revit 2009 or 2010 model that had previously been imported into SketchUp so I could do Photo Matching. All of the Revit materials came over with the import and rendered fine as you can see in the attachement. I don't like the green siding, I'm going to try and see if I can modify the material.

    This will be very handy to our designers that want to show the revit model in an easy photo match rendering.

    Steve
    Attached Images Attached Images

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Network render with the Scanline render engine
    By Steve_Bennett in forum DV - Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2012-04-19, 03:09 AM
  2. Separate render engine
    By Wish List System in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2012-04-10, 04:57 AM
  3. Please add new render engine and Backurner support
    By kauffman in forum NavisWorks - Wish List
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2009-10-02, 10:06 AM
  4. Render Engine Data Folder - Modification?
    By barrie.sharp in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2009-07-30, 12:40 PM
  5. render model and cant see it in the render window
    By sherflor in forum ACA General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2009-07-17, 11:19 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •