Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: DB attribute visibility not working.

  1. #1
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2009-04
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    200
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default DB attribute visibility not working.

    I have been sitting here trying to get these 2 attributes to display correctly using visibility. At first I was just modifying an old block and copied the second attribute from the first, but renamed it, and read forum posts and then made both attributes from scratch and they still won't behave right. Attribute #1 (Address) is only supposed to be visible in the Intelligent states, but it shows the whole time. It has a default value, which does change when I use the block, but I read in someones post this shouldn't affect anything. At a loss as to what's wrong now.

    I just tried one thing, attribute #2 (Wireguard) was set to constant, and once the block was inserted in a dwg it didn't have a grip where you could move the attribute around and reposition, but once I unchecked the constant setting and was able to move it again, now it won't behave correctly either, which if I can't move the attributes they are of no use to me, so anyone who knows a possible work around please fill me in. See attached dwg.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2008-12
    Posts
    175
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: DB attribute visibility not working.

    can you save the sample back to 2009 or 2008? If so I may have a chance to take a look at it tomorrow.

    john

  3. #3
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2009-04
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    200
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: DB attribute visibility not working.

    Here's the dwg in 2007 format.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  4. #4
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2008-12
    Posts
    175
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: DB attribute visibility not working.

    The easiest thing I found was to lock the attribute and then attach a point parameter/move, this keeps the attributes together when one is moved in case something changes in the future arrangement.

    Something weird is happening though when I open the drawing the open in block editor pop-up is displayed. Normally when I save the block with a name and insert into the drawing this does not happen.


    john
    Attached Files Attached Files

  5. #5
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2009-04
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    200
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: DB attribute visibility not working.

    With your suggestion I got it working the way I wanted it. I figured having an attribute locked would override any parameter so I didn't try it, guess I should've. As for the block editor pop up upon inserting the block, I'm not sure why you were getting that, when I insert it I don't get that issue happening. Thanks for your input, much appreciated

  6. #6
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2008-12
    Posts
    175
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: DB attribute visibility not working.

    It is strange, and happened on three drawings I opened today. Something is not right with Autocad today hopefully it keeps running until the weekend.

    john

Similar Threads

  1. 2012: how to tie visibility parameter to attribute?
    By Ning Zhou in forum Dynamic Blocks - Technical
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2018-09-20, 01:30 AM
  2. Move an attribute with visibility states
    By Ed Jobe in forum Dynamic Blocks - Technical
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 2011-03-28, 04:03 PM
  3. Toggle attribute visibility through vlisp?
    By M. Kubitza in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 2010-09-22, 07:57 PM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2006-04-04, 05:46 PM
  5. attribute not working
    By louis.64641 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2005-08-16, 05:29 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •