Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: masselements into viz 2005

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2004-11
    Posts
    4
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default masselements into viz 2005

    I've got a little problem with an architectural model i'm knocking up at the moment.
    when i try to apply materials to the objects that are mass elements (created in adt 2005)rather than treating them seperately based on their individual layers it just changes all the mass elements in the model (i think based on their parent type)
    any thoughts anyone?
    best to scrap it and start again?
    i'm fairly sure i've got the file linking correct only thing i can think of is the 'Derive AutoCAD primitives by:" option in teh file link manager advanced option, but this greyed out so i can't change it.
    help...

  2. #2
    I could stop if I wanted to Kroke's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-04
    Location
    Redmond, OR
    Posts
    446
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: masselements into viz 2005

    if you right click an object and choose "convert to editable mesh" then select the faces you want to have a perticular texture on, that's one way you can go about it.

  3. #3
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    2,337
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: masselements into viz 2005

    In addition to Kroke's suggestion; as these are massing models
    not something further along, I would suggest that you NOT link the file
    and use the 3DSOUT command and then it will most likely translate
    out of ADT as an editable mesh directly. Or import the DWG directly.
    The reason I suggest not linking the file at this juncture is it is only the
    massing model, if it was further along then linking would be preferable.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    2004-11
    Posts
    4
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: masselements into viz 2005

    thank you both - help appreciated. figured out another way in the interim - bit obvious really (but tedious) just set up a bunch of different mass element styles, then viz treated them all seperately and i was able to apply different materials to my hearts content.

Similar Threads

  1. ADT 2005 to AutoCAD 2007 back to ADT 2005
    By yoshi.honda in forum ACA General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2006-07-12, 05:50 AM
  2. 2005 to 2007 to 2005 problems
    By dandan_2 in forum ACA General
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 2006-05-12, 12:49 PM
  3. Importing MD 2005 2D fastener library parts into AutoCAD 2005
    By garyp.97584 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2005-10-18, 09:43 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •