See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Get rid of exclamation sound

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2007-10
    Posts
    7
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Get rid of exclamation sound

    Every time I put an object on a layer that is off or frozen Acad throws up a warning window and plays the windows default exclamation sound. Is there a way to make Acad stop playing the sound?

  2. #2
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,570
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Get rid of exclamation sound

    Go to Options\System tab, uncheck "beep on error in user input".

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2007-10
    Posts
    7
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Get rid of exclamation sound

    Still there. Maybe a system variable that can be turned off?

  4. #4
    Certifiable AUGI Addict ccowgill's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-08
    Location
    Iron Station, NC
    Posts
    3,197
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Get rid of exclamation sound

    change the EXPERT system variable and the alert will go away. I believe it is windows causing the sound, not AutoCAD

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    2007-10
    Posts
    7
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Thumbs up Re: Get rid of exclamation sound

    Perfect! Thank you!

  6. #6
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2017-09
    Posts
    1
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Get rid of exclamation sound

    Quote Originally Posted by ccowgill View Post
    change the EXPERT system variable and the alert will go away. I believe it is windows causing the sound, not AutoCAD
    How would you go about changing that?

  7. #7
    Administrator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,803
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Get rid of exclamation sound

    Quote Originally Posted by colincooper24755722 View Post
    How would you go about changing that?
    At the AutoCAD command line, type in the sysvar EXPERT, and change the value.
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

  8. #8
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    117
    Login to Give a bone
    3

    Default Re: Get rid of exclamation sound

    You can also make sure your Windows sound for "Exclamation" is set to none. Right click sound in system tray and choose Sounds, or go to Control Panel/Settings and find Sounds. Click on the list of Program Events, scroll or type "E", and then change whatever sound file is shown to None.

    You can also turn off all sounds there, in the menu above called Sound Scheme, but some prefer to still get alerts for email, etc. Your preference.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    2015-10
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    2
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Get rid of exclamation sound

    Thanks so much, this was very useful!

Similar Threads

  1. 2013: material exclamation mark
    By jledgewood in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2014-05-01, 05:04 PM
  2. Dialog Box with Exclamation point
    By lnewcombe in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2012-08-28, 01:06 PM
  3. Annoying exclamation point
    By mwalker.87963 in forum AMEP General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2009-07-27, 07:37 PM
  4. Exclamation icon missing
    By ron.moss in forum Dynamic Blocks - Technical
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2008-01-19, 03:42 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •