Thread: REVIT MEP 2010 Electrical Loads

Login to Give a bone

Default REVIT MEP 2010 Electrical Loads

I have been using AutoCAD MEP for some time and I am confortable using it. But I started practicing on REVIT, since I have to be ready to change when the architects I work with switch. I have been able to create circuits panel schedules etc. But have the follwing questions:
    How do you add different types of Load clasifications? the software has only "other", "Power", "lighting" and "HVAC" how about Kitchen Eq. load? etc. I have not found information in any tutorial or help files.
    The panel schedules created don't show load calculations as AutoCAD MEP.How do you include the load calcs with the panel schedule?

Thanks for the help

All AUGI, all the time mwiggins121466's Avatar
    Login to Give a bone

Default Re: REVIT MEP 2010 Electrical Loads

Currently you can not.
    Margaret Wiggins
    Revit MEP 2006 and Greater
    Electrical Designer
    Detroit, Michigan
    wigginsm@yahoo.com

Login to Give a bone

Thanks for the reply. It is unfortunate that you can't change any of that.
    I guess I will not be switching to REVIT until Autodesk fixes that.

Thanks

Login to Give a bone

if you can't change or ad load categotries to a Revit project, then the electrical portion of REVIT MEP is usless. How are you going to include Motor Loads, Kitchen Equipment load? with a generic HVAC load clasification how do you distinguish between Cooling or Heating loads that are non concurrent?
    In addition the fact that you can't display load claculations in the panel scheudles makes the electrical portion of REVIT MEP useless.

I could stop if I wanted to
    Login to Give a bone

Revit does have a lot of issues with demand load but you can accomplish what you want with a little bit of manual entry and formula creation. Take a look at this post to get a better idea. http://forums.augi.com/showthread.php?t=106298

Login to Give a bone