Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Capability of SAP2000 V14 and Risa in Revit Structure

  1. #1
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2003-07
    Posts
    1
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Capability of SAP2000 V14 and Risa in Revit Structure

    "How difficult is it to create a link between SAP2000 V14 and RST2008? How is it done?" and "How difficult is it to create a link between RISA and RST2008? How is it done?"

  2. #2
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2006-05
    Posts
    836
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Capability of SAP2000 V14 and Risa in Revit Structure

    Paul

    I believe there is already a link for RISA, I would definately take a look at their website and talk to them, as to how good it works compared to now would be hard to say. The advantage of the latest versions is they have had the chance to take any bugs out of the link or increase what can be translated and linked.

    As for SAP I know there is one for ETABS but I am unaware of how SAP works with Revit if at all. I would talk to CSI about that and whether you need ETABS as a translator or you can use CIS/2 or something or even IFC, however the more products or generic options you need to translate through the dirtier the file.

    In regards to creating a link (writing the code) then if SAP offers an API I guess you could write one providing you have the skills. But I would imagine if it was easy it would have been done.
    AJS
    BIMM Consultant
    www.GHD.com

  3. #3
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2006-09
    Posts
    442
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Capability of SAP2000 V14 and Risa in Revit Structure

    As mentioned there is a link between Risa and Revit. Currently there is no link between SAP and Revit. What we have done in the past is export the joint and frame data out of SAP to an excel file. Then we dump that data into a Import Excel Extension spreadsheet and use the extension to create the Revit model. It's not the best solution but it does work.

    Wow I really bungled that post up. There is a link for RISA, which we use. There is no link for SAP, just ETABS.
    Last edited by djn; 2009-09-18 at 02:43 PM.

  4. #4
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2006-05
    Posts
    836
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Capability of SAP2000 V14 and Risa in Revit Structure

    Thanks for the clear up. I saw there was an AU talk this year on RISA and Revit so I assumed.
    AJS
    BIMM Consultant
    www.GHD.com

  5. #5
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2009-08
    Posts
    105
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Capability of SAP2000 V14 and Risa in Revit Structure

    Try to visit the site of risa there is the link for revit but my problem with that was my members became circular in section and I do not know how to modify sections to restore it as rectangles

  6. #6
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2006-09
    Posts
    442
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Capability of SAP2000 V14 and Risa in Revit Structure

    The first thing I would check is your mapping file? The link has a pretty extensive mapping table that can be customized pretty easily.

    Are you going from RISA to Revit, or Revit to RISA?

  7. #7
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2009-08
    Posts
    105
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Capability of SAP2000 V14 and Risa in Revit Structure

    Revit to Risa please help me through that mapping method I think that is my great problem

  8. #8
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2006-09
    Posts
    442
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Capability of SAP2000 V14 and Risa in Revit Structure

    I don't have the mapping table in front of me, but when I get back to the office I will send you some info.

Similar Threads

  1. SE314-2: Streamlined Structural Analysis Using Autodesk Revit Structure and RISA
    By Autodesk University in forum Structural Design and Engineering
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2014-12-01, 03:40 AM
  2. revit structure 2 and CSI sap2000
    By manigriffin in forum Revit - API
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-10-30, 01:23 PM
  3. RISA's Revit Structure Link seminar
    By pdavis in forum Revit Structure - General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2006-08-13, 01:32 AM
  4. RAM or RISA with Revit
    By dandan_2 in forum Revit Structure - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2006-06-13, 01:16 PM
  5. RISA, ETABS, RAM, or SAP2000 ?
    By peter in forum Revit Structure - General
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 2005-12-20, 11:08 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •