Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Plot Styles Change "Normal" globaly in layer dialog

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Posts
    25
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Exclamation Plot Styles Change "Normal" globaly in layer dialog

    I would like to know if there is a lisp routine or VBA routine out there for editing the layer dialog and changing all instances of "Normal" plot style to "Full Saturation" or something else?
    Ed Lowe
    CAD Coordinator
    Burgess & Niple

  2. #2
    The Silent Type RobertB's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-01
    Location
    Seattle WA USA
    Posts
    5,859
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Plot Styles Change "Normal" globaly in layer dialog

    There is no need for that. You can do it from the command line, e.g. -Layer.
    R. Robert Bell
    Design Technology Manager
    Stantec
    Opinions expressed are mine alone and do not reflect the views of Stantec.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Posts
    25
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Plot Styles Change "Normal" globaly in layer dialog

    No that won't work. I did know about that command and have used it before. I want to change 50 layers out of 100 layers. So I need to be able to walk through the list and programaticaly change only those that are "Normal" not the other ones.
    Ed Lowe
    CAD Coordinator
    Burgess & Niple

  4. #4
    The Silent Type RobertB's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-01
    Location
    Seattle WA USA
    Posts
    5,859
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Plot Styles Change "Normal" globaly in layer dialog

    Quote Originally Posted by elowe View Post
    I want to change 50 layers out of 100 layers. So I need to be able to walk through the list and programaticaly change only those that are "Normal" not the other ones.
    That's easy to do with the API. There is a PlotSyleName property. Simply examine the current value and if it is "Normal" set it to the desired value.

    Note that if the desired plot style is missing in the drawing you might run into a issue.
    R. Robert Bell
    Design Technology Manager
    Stantec
    Opinions expressed are mine alone and do not reflect the views of Stantec.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Posts
    25
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Plot Styles Change "Normal" globaly in layer dialog

    Regretably I am not that good a programming. Is there anyone out there that has some code I can start with to help me out?
    Ed Lowe
    CAD Coordinator
    Burgess & Niple

  6. #6
    The Silent Type RobertB's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-01
    Location
    Seattle WA USA
    Posts
    5,859
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Plot Styles Change "Normal" globaly in layer dialog

    Quote Originally Posted by elowe View Post
    Regretably I am not that good a programming. Is there anyone out there that has some code I can start with to help me out?
    Have you no code all all you've tried?
    Code:
    Sub Test
      Dim aLayer as AcadLayer
      For Each aLayer In ThisDocument.Layers
        'Try it here
      Next aLayer
    End Sub
    R. Robert Bell
    Design Technology Manager
    Stantec
    Opinions expressed are mine alone and do not reflect the views of Stantec.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Posts
    25
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Plot Styles Change "Normal" globaly in layer dialog

    Regretably no code. I am an old lisp writter. I have not kept up with VBA. I know how to stick some VB into my lisp code but to write it from scratch I am out of my element. Sorry. I will look at what you wrote and see what I can do.

    Thanks
    Ed Lowe
    CAD Coordinator
    Burgess & Niple

  8. #8
    The Silent Type RobertB's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-01
    Location
    Seattle WA USA
    Posts
    5,859
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Plot Styles Change "Normal" globaly in layer dialog

    Quote Originally Posted by elowe View Post
    Regretably no code. I am an old lisp writter. I have not kept up with VBA. I know how to stick some VB into my lisp code but to write it from scratch I am out of my element. Sorry. I will look at what you wrote and see what I can do.
    I'm here to help.

    All you really need to do with the boilerplate is check aLayer's PlotStyleName property and if it is equal to "Normal" then change it to "Full Saturation".
    R. Robert Bell
    Design Technology Manager
    Stantec
    Opinions expressed are mine alone and do not reflect the views of Stantec.

  9. #9
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2002-02
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    487
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Plot Styles Change "Normal" globaly in layer dialog

    I put a Layer Propeties Filter in by Layer Manager named Bad Plot Sylte set the Plot Style to Normal This will select all Layer with Plot Style = Normal then all you need to do is change the Plot Style for the Bad Plot Style to what you need.

    see attachment

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Posts
    25
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Plot Styles Change "Normal" globaly in layer dialog

    Ok I have tried my hand at some code. I now believe I may be in the wrong forum. If you think this should be moved to lisp forum that is fine.

    Attached is my lisp routine as well as a simple sample drawing. The goal is to change the layer plotstyles from "Normal" to "Full Saturation"

    I have a "get" subroutine and a "set" subroutine for Plt Style manipulation that if you try them from the command line on an individual specific layer name they work fine.

    I then created a BNLoop subroutine.

    My main program creates a list of layers and I am trying to loop through them with a foreasch command which is probably where I am lost

    Any suggestions?
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Ed Lowe
    CAD Coordinator
    Burgess & Niple

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Lisp to "Display plot styles" on open
    By kevinreed2 in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 2019-08-14, 05:50 PM
  2. Label Styles - "Tick" exporting on Current Layer not General Layer
    By LeafRider in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - Alignments
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2011-03-09, 05:34 AM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-06-24, 08:11 PM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2006-10-28, 04:47 AM
  5. "Plot device" section missing from the Plot dialog box
    By laratoola85973 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2005-07-28, 06:55 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •