Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Rendering speed in Windows 7 64 & Revit 2010 64bit

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2007-11
    Posts
    2
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Rendering speed in Windows 7 64 & Revit 2010 64bit

    I recently got my workstation upgraded and up my ram to 8gb.

    I have a single quad-core chip at 2.66mhz and with 8gb DDR2 ram, I thought I would see a great improvement in redering, but I am not sure sure if it did improve.

    the system used to be running windows xp 32 & Revit 2009, and the model I rendered used to take about 11hrs. its got about 30 down lights, interior: artificial only, setting: high @ 150dpi. I know being at 150dpi, it would take 2.7x longer than at say 72dpi and since the upgrade I thought it would be much faster to render the same image. however its been running about 9.5 hours still 18% to go, see attached.

    with the new setup I checked the task manager, all 4 core seemed to be running at 100%, however, its using only about 4gb of ram with the rest setting there not used, is this normal?

    I am no tech head, so can any bench marker shed some light on if i can improve rendering performance?
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2015-10
    Location
    Wellington , NZ
    Posts
    565
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Rendering speed in Windows 7 64 & Revit 2010 64bit

    Hi, I just did similar 2 months ago although only have a Core 2 Duo 2.67, 8Gb DDR 2 RAM, Vista 64. Revit x64.
    After running a few through, Revit seems to only use about 1.5-1.6 Gb RAM while rendering using the Task Manager to read out data. I feel about the same as you although I really think that it is a bit faster and Revit generally seems to run smoother than on 32 bit and 4 Gb RAM. Crashing also seems to have stopped, which is, a good thing.

    I am guessing its still cpu grunt that is the problem once you have 8Gb RAM and a quad in a x64 environment...its no slug with those specs and although the arch viz people have a wide range of hardware often with 16-24 Gb RAM and dual Xeon quads or render farms, but then they are using dedicated rendering software that is not crippled for shaders and tools let alone cpu cores , as is the case with mental ray inside Revit.
    boo hoo,

    trombe

  3. #3
    "Rock-n-Roll Architect" SCShell's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-01
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    1,272
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Rendering speed in Windows 7 64 & Revit 2010 64bit

    Hey there,
    I can't speak on Windows 7 yet; however, my new machine runs XP64 with an I7 processor and 6 gigs of ram. It does render faster than my old machine....but, the biggest advantage that I see is that I can copy a project and start a rendering, Minimize it, open a new session of Revit, and continue working on the actual project while my rendering is being done in the background. When it's done, I just close that project and delete it.
    I have done this with 2 renderings cooking in the background. A real time saver for me.
    Hope that helps a bit.
    Steve
    Steven C. Shell, Architect
    Tucson, Arizona
    www.scshell.com

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    2007-11
    Posts
    2
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Rendering speed in Windows 7 64 & Revit 2010 64bit

    thanks for the responses guys, lets hope one day revit gets the techincal boost it needs and utilized the hardwarefully when rendering.

    i would say, windows 7 rocks! i skipped vista in its entirety and went from xp 32 to win7 64, it really made multi tasking so much smoother.

    SC, yes i have done multi-sessions many times, even rending 4 session on my old xp 32bit. perhaps i'll try it on this machine too and see if there are any obvious improvement.

  5. #5
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2003-12
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    175
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Rendering speed in Windows 7 64 & Revit 2010 64bit

    hey guys

    yep, I have done 1 rendering split with region render on same machine i7 extreme (2 sessions of revit) and yes it has cut the time in half. Once both sessions have finished, I join the images in photoshop.

    that was done in xp64...still the best

Similar Threads

  1. Revit 2009 64 bit on a Windows 7 64bit & RAC 2011
    By Dave Lewis in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2011-02-02, 02:49 AM
  2. Robot+SpreadSheet Calculator 2011+excel 2010 64 bit+windows 7 профессиональнная 64bit
    By mihail_kosarev in forum Русский - Все про архитектурное и строительное проектирование
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2010-10-12, 05:22 AM
  3. Here is a show-stopper for us. Windows 7 Revit 2009 64bit issue
    By Baldwin_4-6-0 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2010-06-03, 12:36 PM
  4. IE8 Windows Update and Revit 2009 64bit
    By ws in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2009-04-30, 07:59 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •