Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: data link/ database field help

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2007-08
    Posts
    8
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default data link/ database field help

    Hello!

    Am really hoping someone can help me. Am not sure if this is the right forum or not....? [moved to Fields forum]

    I have 3 questions about database fields.

    1. Does anyone have any experience with them and could give me hints as to pit falls. Or should I just not even go down that road...?

    2. Have been experimenting with ODBC/ DSN files with moderate success. For some reason I cannot remove files to which I did test connections to from the drop down in the Fields window. (see jpeg) How to remove them?

    All ideas are welcome.
    Have good days all of you!
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by RobertB; 2009-11-10 at 04:13 PM. Reason: moderator note added

  2. #2
    The Silent Type RobertB's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-01
    Location
    Seattle WA USA
    Posts
    5,859
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: data link/ database field help

    For your second question: have you tried the DataLinks command?
    R. Robert Bell
    Design Technology Manager
    Stantec
    Opinions expressed are mine alone and do not reflect the views of Stantec.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2007-08
    Posts
    8
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: data link/ database field help

    Hello!

    Yes I have tried but only get me to links to excel not database links....
    And have checked in options where Data Links are stored and cleared that folder. hm

  4. #4
    Certifiable AUGI Addict irneb's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-11
    Location
    Jo'burg SA
    Posts
    4,512
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: data link/ database field help

    Knowledge is proportional to experience, but wisdom is inversely proportional to ego!
    My little bit of "wisdom": Hind-sight is useless, unless used to improve the next forethought!

  5. #5
    Certifiable AUGI Addict irneb's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-11
    Location
    Jo'burg SA
    Posts
    4,512
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: data link/ database field help

    As for hints and pitfalls. A few I've come across:
    • In some cases formatting numbers don't work.' Workaround is to hack the field-codes in a text editor and copy-n-paste into the MText; or use a nested field inside a formula field.
    • Both workarounds above break if you edit the field at a later stage.
    • Use diesel fields to work with strings, e.g. to extract a portion of the drawing's filename you use $(substr,$(getvar,dwgname),2,3). 2 being the start position, and 3 the length to be extracted - change as needed.
    • You cannot use nested fields inside a diesel field. You can paste another field's code into the diesel, it appears to work. But after clicking OK the nested field is converted to normal text - i.e. wont update.
    Knowledge is proportional to experience, but wisdom is inversely proportional to ego!
    My little bit of "wisdom": Hind-sight is useless, unless used to improve the next forethought!

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2015-04-29, 01:18 PM
  2. linking field data to other object data
    By keith_velishek in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 2014-03-23, 03:53 AM
  3. CV41-1: Field-to-Desktop-to-Field Using Land Desktop and Trimble Link
    By Autodesk University in forum Civil Infrastructure
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2013-04-08, 08:27 PM
  4. Field data lost at data link synchronization
    By brennsvette in forum AutoCAD 3D (2007 and above)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2008-09-17, 03:07 PM
  5. Link Text Fields to Database
    By kerickson in forum AutoCAD Fields
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2006-02-02, 11:03 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •