See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 61

Thread: Video card D3D compatibility - Revit 2010 on Vista / Win7

  1. #21
    Revit Arch. Wishlist Mgr. Wes Macaulay's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    Vancouver, BC CANADA
    Posts
    3,348
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Video card D3D compatibility - Revit 2010 on Vista / Win7

    Quote Originally Posted by iru69 View Post
    I corrected your statement for you.

    DX is new to Revit and maybe the Factory just needs another year (even if their track record doesn't speak well for things changing for the better).
    Ha! I am inclined to agree with you, and in fact shared my frustration in the open SR I have on this issue. In the SR I mentioned that DX has supposed to bring wider compatibility but it doesn't seem like we've experienced that. In the SR I stated that I'd like to see a guarantee that WHQL-certified drivers on DirectX will be compatible with Revit.

    Here's hoping
    Wes Macaulay LEED AP
    Teck Construction LLP
    Revit 2014 x64 | Win7 x64 | nVidia GT 650M
    Tell Adesk what you think!

  2. #22
    AUGI Addict iru69's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-10
    Location
    usa
    Posts
    1,591
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Video card D3D compatibility - Revit 2010 on Vista / Win7

    You're talking about that old "Render Benchmark" test? Those benchmark numbers won't tell you anything about your video card.

    What we're interested in is how well it works with Revit's HWA... does it crash, are there strange artifacts, does the Ribbon go black, do shadows work, etc... Open up a model and put it through its paces.

    Quote Originally Posted by kgrant.115222 View Post
    Will do, ill run the RAC and MEP bench tonight. Although last time i tried doing the bench in win7 it wouldnt write the csv file

  3. #23
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2015-09
    Posts
    479
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Video card D3D compatibility - Revit 2010 on Vista / Win7

    Yeah i guess that would help wouldn't it. You guys leaving the GPU settings set to default or are you tweaking it at all.

  4. #24
    Certifiable AUGI Addict twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-01
    Location
    ---
    Posts
    4,516
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Video card D3D compatibility - Revit 2010 on Vista / Win7

    Quote Originally Posted by Wes Macaulay View Post
    No -- though I'm hoping people will start posting to this thread with their results.

    Aaron, I think the Factory doesn't want to take the heat if someone buys the recommended card and it doesn't work! Plus, who wants to take sides on the vendor wars?

    This whole thing is a mess. It's hard to lay the blame on the Factory -- I've got a Radeon 4650 which works great (Vista 32). But the mobile 4670 (Win7 64) and the desktop 4670 (Vista 32) don't work with D3D in Revit -- turning D3D on in Revit on the 4670s makes views slower and causes objects to flicker on and off. So with the same drivers, why does the 4650 work with D3D in Revit, and the 4670 not work?

    In that regard, i dont blame them one bit. Thats why (even though i knew it wouldnt appeal to their more generous tendancies) i didnt ask for an officially recommended card OR driver. In fact, i wasnt asking about a card to use, since i had a particular card i was referencing in the SR.

    Actually, i just asked them if they could tell me a particular QuadroFX card DRIVER that they were using in house (whether officially certified, or not), on ANY of the Quadro cards, and they couldnt.

    Im not upset though, i understand they really cant. Its just frustrating becasue they either have:

    1. A factory full of employees whos computers crash as much as ours (and they wont talk, lol)
    2. A factory full of ATI cards that sing perfectly and never waver (and they dont want to support one or the other).
    3. A factory with some Quadro cards that theyve gotten to work, but they cant tell us with which drivers or which settings out of obligation not to.

    In either case, i sympathize with them. All in all, our crashes arent that frequent, as long as HWA is turned off, and no one is in XP32 with the QFX570, LOL.

  5. #25
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2015-09
    Posts
    479
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Video card D3D compatibility - Revit 2010 on Vista / Win7

    Well I couldnt open the model i wanted, dunno why. But i was able to open another arch model and do a simple drafting rendering. No black lines or any other noticeable issue. Ill try and get the good model opened tonight and do a better rendering (more shadows and such) and see how it comes out.

    I think my issue is that im not connected to the internet and havent been able to get all the cab files.

  6. #26
    AUGI Addict iru69's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-10
    Location
    usa
    Posts
    1,591
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Video card D3D compatibility - Revit 2010 on Vista / Win7

    Quote Originally Posted by kgrant.115222 View Post
    Well I couldnt open the model i wanted, dunno why. But i was able to open another arch model and do a simple drafting rendering. No black lines or any other noticeable issue. Ill try and get the good model opened tonight and do a better rendering (more shadows and such) and see how it comes out.
    The video card has just about nothing to do with rendering (as in Revit). It doesn't matter what video card you have, or whether you have Hardware Acceleration turned on or not, it's not going to affect rendering performance. Rendering is processed by the CPU, not the video card.

  7. #27
    All AUGI, all the time gwnelson's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-04
    Location
    Westchester County, NY, USA
    Posts
    612
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Video card D3D compatibility - Revit 2010 on Vista / Win7

    FX580 is working better on 7 than it had on Vista or XP, all 64 bit. Hardware accel is on and I do get a little residual effect where a bunch of entities get highlighted but zooming out seems to release everything. Overall I'm 95% happy with my hardware & 2010 performance. (No mention of railings or other content issues here).

  8. #28
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2015-09
    Posts
    479
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Video card D3D compatibility - Revit 2010 on Vista / Win7

    Quote Originally Posted by iru69 View Post
    You're talking about that old "Render Benchmark" test? Those benchmark numbers won't tell you anything about your video card.

    What we're interested in is how well it works with Revit's HWA... does it crash, are there strange artifacts, does the Ribbon go black, do shadows work, etc... Open up a model and put it through its paces.
    Quote Originally Posted by iru69 View Post
    The video card has just about nothing to do with rendering (as in Revit). It doesn't matter what video card you have, or whether you have Hardware Acceleration turned on or not, it's not going to affect rendering performance. Rendering is processed by the CPU, not the video card.
    You lost me.....

  9. #29
    AUGI Addict iru69's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-10
    Location
    usa
    Posts
    1,591
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Video card D3D compatibility - Revit 2010 on Vista / Win7

    Quote Originally Posted by kgrant.115222 View Post
    You lost me.....
    Please excuse me if I misunderstood you and you already are aware of this, but a common misconception is that a faster video card and/or Revit Hardware Acceleration (HWA) results in faster rendering times. It doesn't. It (rendering) doesn't have anything to do with D3D (DirectX) either. Simply put, rendering performance is entirely dependent on the speed of the CPU and RAM.

    The "compatibility" being discussed in this thread has to do with working with views and the model, and more specifically when Revit HWA is turned on (since it's rather rare that a video card won't work okay with HWA turned off). When you zoom in and out or orbit around the model, is it smooth or do parts of the model disappear? Does Revit become more prone to crashing? Do shadows work as expected? Do strange graphic artifacts or random lines suddenly appear, etc.

    An example is the ATI FireGL V3400 video card in my computer. It works fine with HWA turned off. If I turn HWA on, it appears to be okay for a little while as I work with the model, then random graphic artifacts will suddenly appear or the view will turn completely bright yellow or other weird stuff. So, that video card would go under the "not compatible" with HWA list.

    I hope that helps explain what this thread is about.

    Last edited by iru69; 2009-12-22 at 10:56 PM.

  10. #30
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2015-09
    Posts
    479
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Video card D3D compatibility - Revit 2010 on Vista / Win7

    OK i got you. I was aware of the first part, but i guess that didnt click in my head when I did a quick rendering. Well based on that The model i opened was a large University Housing project, 250k sq ft or so i think. I switched between a couple views and a 3D view with no issues. Although that was with HWA turned off. Ill do more of that as well as everything else you mentioned.

    Sorry for the confusion.

Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2011-09-01, 10:32 PM
  2. Event ID 500 in Win7, need new graphics card?
    By patricks in forum Revit - Hardware & Operating Systems
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2009-12-04, 11:11 PM
  3. ATI video card... has Revit video settings!
    By Wes Macaulay in forum Revit - Hardware & Operating Systems
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 2009-02-16, 07:03 PM
  4. Revit 7.0 Video Card Issues
    By mwenta in forum Revit - Hardware & Operating Systems
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2008-01-25, 10:28 PM
  5. Is 32 Megs on the Video Card too little for Revit?
    By hand471037 in forum Revit - Hardware & Operating Systems
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2004-01-05, 07:26 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •