Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Constrain the parameter value & display an custom error message

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2008-08
    Posts
    10
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Constrain the parameter value & display an custom error message

    Is there a way to pop out an error message describing the error when some undesired value is fed into the parameter in the project.

    "if (length<10000, Enter length greater than 10000, Length)"

    "Enter length greater than 10000" needs to pop out.


    Regards,
    Raghavendra Bhat

  2. #2
    All AUGI, all the time Munkholm's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-09
    Location
    The Kingdom of Denmark
    Posts
    560
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Constrain the parameter value & display an custom error message

    Raghavendra

    Instead of repeating it here, just check out this Blog post
    Last edited by Munkholm; 2011-01-10 at 12:46 PM.
    - Klaus Munkholm

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2008-08
    Posts
    10
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Constrain the parameter value & display an custom error message

    Thanks Mate I think this will work

    Only problem is if the family is of Metric Generic Model or of Metric Mass the text entered dose not have the visibile parameter.

    In this case what to do!

    Regards,
    Raghavendra Bhat

  4. #4
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA USA
    Posts
    1,906
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Constrain the parameter value & display an custom error message

    The other method is to Create a Nested Generic annotation family consisting of a Label. This nested annotation will always be readable, scalable, etc. Its value parameter can be "attached" to a text parameter in your family. I have a super long if statment in a family, that if any of a series of values goes out of range, then a text value, relating to that out of range is set for that value. This text could be the offending parameter name. To make My life easier, I actually have a Yes/No parameter for each parameter I am checking, and then the nested if, is only checking to see if one of these trigger Yes/No parameters is "True", and echos the text.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    2008-08
    Posts
    10
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Constrain the parameter value & display an custom error message

    Thanks scott

    the first thing tomorrow i would do is try this out.

    Regards,
    Raghavendra Bhat

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    2008-08
    Posts
    10
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Constrain the parameter value & display an custom error message

    Thanks Scott!

    It worked for me! Thanks for your help.

    Regards,
    Raghavendra Bhat
    Last edited by raghavendra.bhat; 2009-12-10 at 04:52 AM.

Similar Threads

  1. 2015: Display Custom Bend Deductions from Table as Parameter
    By d.m.polsky in forum Inventor - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2014-12-04, 02:19 PM
  2. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2009-10-27, 12:03 PM
  3. Custom linetype error message
    By David van Erk in forum AutoCAD Customization
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2007-09-05, 04:50 PM
  4. Error Message: Display Error
    By mccurdyks in forum Revit - Hardware & Operating Systems
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2006-07-19, 07:21 PM
  5. Display Error Message
    By kjgiant in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2004-11-03, 09:51 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •