See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 37

Thread: Is making a Key Plan really that hard?

  1. #1
    100 Club dgraue's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-06
    Location
    Santa Monica, CA
    Posts
    184
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Is making a Key Plan really that hard?

    How are you putting Key Plans on your sheets? I have a large multistory building and need to show enlarged plans on multiple sheets for each level. I need to drop a Key Plan on each enlarged plan sheet to show the location in the building the plan occurs by shadding that area of the Key Plan. The only way I can figure to do this is to duplicate a region filled drafting view a dozen times to drop onto each sheet or to print a pdf of the Key Plan and make it into a Jpg in Photoshop and import the Jpg image onto the sheet.

    A Key Plan is as basic a need to drawing sheets as is a north arrow. That said, I guess I could create a generic family for each Key Plan and bring that in. But, the drawback here is that you can not bring in the outline of your project into the generic family...so you will need to draw its profile from scratch.

    Any other ideas?

    Thanks.
    DG

  2. #2
    NavisWorks Moderator david.kingham's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-07
    Location
    Fort Collins, CO
    Posts
    1,329
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Is making a Key Plan really that hard?

    I first export to dwg, delete what i dont want to see in the dwg, then import that into a legend, put a filled region where you want to shade, have to create a different legend for each shaded area but at least not for each sheet

  3. #3
    All AUGI, all the time Firmso's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-03
    Location
    Here, Still
    Posts
    549
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Is making a Key Plan really that hard?

    Will inserting the plans under Legend work? Just like cretaing any other legend.

  4. #4
    100 Club dgraue's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-06
    Location
    Santa Monica, CA
    Posts
    184
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Is making a Key Plan really that hard?

    Legends...good idea. That will work nicely.
    Thanks David.

  5. #5
    I could stop if I wanted to eldad's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-01
    Posts
    230
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Is making a Key Plan really that hard?

    A simple way is to create a generic annotation family, more or less the shape of your building if you like, than just create field regions with yes/no parameter you can turn on and off according to your location

    that way you create one family you can reuse. I tried to upload the family but our much loved (not) mime sweeper is stopping me
    email me if you want it
    Eldad Asoulin
    Integrator Architecture Engineering Construction
    KarelCAD
    www.karelcad.com.au

  6. #6
    Count (Formula) dbaldacchino's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-07
    Location
    Missouri City, Texas (Houston area)
    Posts
    3,250
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Is making a Key Plan really that hard?

    I'm doing it similar to Eldad...Generic Annotation nested in a titleblock family (we show the keyplan on each sheet on the left, outside the drawing area). I did a Print Screen of my floor plan, saved it to a jpg, inserted it in the border family and scaled it down to about 3" or so. Then I traced over and did filled regions and letters to designate the areas, and used Yes/No parameters to control visibility. I saved this family and inserted it in the border family. Then I tied the visibility parameters to others I created in the border. By default I left all filled regions turned off so when you create a new sheet, you get a clean keyplan showing all areas, but none is hatched. Then you select the border properties and turn on the area you want. Works like a charm.

  7. #7
    Certified AUGI Addict patricks's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-06
    Location
    Memphis TN area
    Posts
    7,047
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Is making a Key Plan really that hard?

    Quote Originally Posted by dbaldacchino
    I'm doing it similar to Eldad...Generic Annotation nested in a titleblock family (we show the keyplan on each sheet on the left, outside the drawing area). I did a Print Screen of my floor plan, saved it to a jpg, inserted it in the border family and scaled it down to about 3" or so. Then I traced over and did filled regions and letters to designate the areas, and used Yes/No parameters to control visibility. I saved this family and inserted it in the border family. Then I tied the visibility parameters to others I created in the border. By default I left all filled regions turned off so when you create a new sheet, you get a clean keyplan showing all areas, but none is hatched. Then you select the border properties and turn on the area you want. Works like a charm.
    so you create different title blocks for every project? We don't do that, we have one titleblock for each sheet size and just put in the project info on each project.

    On my last big project I also did a keyplan as a generic annotation with yes/no parameters on the different filled areas. Then I placed one, and pasted same place to get them in the exact same spot on every plan sheet, and then adjusted the yes/no parameters for each instance. I think it worked pretty well. As far as the building outline, it was fairly simple and I was able to approximate it just by drawing lines freehand in the generic annotation family editor.
    Intern Architect, BIM Manager/Coordinator
    AERC, PLLC
    Hernando, Mississippi

    Revit - all up in your voxel space

  8. #8
    I could stop if I wanted to eldad's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-01
    Posts
    230
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Is making a Key Plan really that hard?

    I don't have it as part of the title block, but you could duplicate the title block and insert when needed... many ways to skin a cat
    Eldad Asoulin
    Integrator Architecture Engineering Construction
    KarelCAD
    www.karelcad.com.au

  9. #9
    Count (Formula) dbaldacchino's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-07
    Location
    Missouri City, Texas (Houston area)
    Posts
    3,250
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Is making a Key Plan really that hard?

    No, we have our standard title block. Then we have to "customize it" with client's logo, (school districts), consultant logos etc just once, at the beginning of the project. All I do is nest the symbol (generic annotation) inside the border and connect it to the A, B, C, D, E (instance parameters) etc. that designate the plan areas (each of these areas fits on an AP sheet @ 1/8" scale). It doesn't matter if this is done at the end of DD as it'll show up on all created sheets. The user just has to turn on the right areas for each sheet.

    As I said, by default when you create a new sheet and select the titleblock, the keyplan comes in with all filled regions turned off. All the user does then is select the border, go to properties and check the area that the sheet pertains to and the hatch region turns on.

  10. #10
    All AUGI, all the time ford347's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-01
    Location
    Oroville, CA
    Posts
    874
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Is making a Key Plan really that hard?

    Would any of you mind posting an image of what you are explaining and how the key plan actually looks. I am trying to adapt new methods for our firm, and since our projects don't exceed a certain size most of the time, I am always interested in how larger firms do things. Just curious.

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Making Ductwork visible on a ceiling plan??
    By brendan.upton in forum Revit MEP - General
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2012-06-01, 02:47 AM
  2. Replies: 17
    Last Post: 2008-05-02, 04:56 PM
  3. Making a family always visible in Plan
    By Andrew Dobson in forum Revit Architecture - Families
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2008-03-18, 04:59 PM
  4. Making walls in plan black without using cut fills
    By dbaldacchino in forum Revit Architecture - Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2006-12-15, 04:32 PM
  5. Making a DWG show up in rendered site plan
    By Davied2 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2006-05-05, 12:48 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •